SoCon Preseason All-Conference Teams Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 07/25/2011
Print RSS
Wofford's Eric Breitenstein
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein has been named the Southern Conference Preseason Offensive Player of the Year in voting conducted by the league's head coaches.  Defensive linemen Ameet Pall (Wofford) and Brent Russell (Georgia Southern) were tabbed Preseason Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Breitenstein led the league and ranked fifth in the nation with 1,639 rushing yards last season.  The junior scored 22 touchdowns a season ago and ranked fourth nationally with 10.15 points per game.  The Terriers boasted the top rushing attack in all of FCS last season with 297.7 yards per game on the ground.

Russell posted 71 tackles for Georgia Southern in 2010.  A first-team Associated Press All-American last season, Russell helped anchor one of the top defenses in FCS last year as the Eagles ranked among the nation's leaders in total defense (ninth), pass defense (11th) and scoring defense (11th).

Pall was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year in 2010.  The Montreal, Quebec native recorded 60 tackles on the defensive line for the Terriers.  He ranked eighth nationally in both sacks (12.5) and tackles for loss (22.5).  Pall forced two fumbles and recorded two others in 2010 as Wofford ranked seventh nationally in total defense. 

Georgia Southern led all schools with 14 selections, including eight on the first team.  Appalachian State placed five on the first team and six on the second team.

Chattanooga and Furman each had seven student-athletes honored, while Wofford placed three on both the first and second team. 

The 2011 Southern Conference football season begins Thursday, September 1 when Western Carolina visits Georgia Tech.  The league's eight other teams hit the field Saturday, September 3, including a conference game between Georgia Southern and Samford. 

2011 Southern Conference Football

Preseason All-Conference Teams
Offensive Player of the Year: Eric Breitenstein, Jr., FB, Wofford
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Ameet Pall, Sr., DL, Wofford & Brent Russell, Jr., DL, Georgia Southern

First Team Offense
QB         DeAndre Presley, Sr., Appalachian State
RB         Robert Brown, So, Georgia Southern
RB         Eric Breitenstein, Jr., Wofford
OL         Orry Frye, Sr., Appalachian State
OL         Rodney Austin, Sr., Elon
OL         Ryan Lee, Sr., Furman
OL         Brett Moore, Sr., Georgia Southern
OL         Nate Page, Sr., Wofford
TE          Ben Jorden, Sr., Appalachian State
WR        Aaron Mellette, Jr., Elon
WR        Joel Bradford, Sr., Chattanooga

First Team Defense
DL         John Rizor, Jr., Appalachian State
DL         Brent Russell, Jr., Georgia Southern
DL         Alex Davis, Sr., Samford
DL         Ameet Pall, Sr., Wofford
LB          Kadarron Anderson, Sr., Furman
LB          Josh Rowe, Jr., Georgia Southern
LB          Ryan Consiglio, Sr., Chattanooga
DB         Ed Gainey, Sr., Appalachian State
DB         Ryan Steed, Sr., Furman
DB         Derek Heyden, Sr., Georgia Southern
DB         Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern

First Team Specialists
PK         Ray Early, So., Furman
P           Charlie Edwards, Sr., Georgia Southern
RS         Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern

Second Team Offense
QB         B.J. Coleman, Sr., Chattanooga
RB         Travaris Cadet, Sr., Appalachian State
RB         J.J. Wilcox, Jr., Georgia Southern
OL         Matt Ruff, Sr., Appalachian State
OL         Dakota Dozier, So., Furman
OL         Dorian Byrd, So., Georgia Southern
OL         Willie Maxwell, Sr., Georgia Southern
OL         Adam Miller, Jr., Chattanooga
TE          (tie) Colin Anderson, Jr., Furman
TE          (tie) Tyler Sumner, Jr., Georgia Southern
WR        Brian Quick, Sr., Appalachian State
WR        Brenton Bersin, Sr., Wofford

Second Team Defense
DL         Josh Lynn, Jr., Furman
DL         Roderick Tinsley, Sr., Georgia Southern
DL         Nick Davison, Sr., Chattanooga
DL         Eric Eberhardt, Sr., Wofford
LB          Brandon Grier, Jr., Appalachian State
LB          Tolu Akindele, Sr., The Citadel
LB          Joshua Jones, Sr., Elon
DB         Corey White, Sr., Samford
DB         Chris Lewis-Harris, Sr., Chattanooga
DB         Kadeem Wise, So., Chattanooga
DB         Blake Wylie, Jr., Wofford

Second Team Specialists
PK         Adrian Mora, Sr., Georgia Southern
P           Sam Martin, Jr., Appalachian State
RS         Travaris Cadet, Sr., Appalachian State

NOTE: Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own student-athletes.

SoCon Digital Network
SoConFB What's in the Box
2019 Football Helmets
Commissioner Jim Schaus Press Conference
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
Connect with SoConSports