Richmond's Hynes, Pugh Earn First Team All-American Honors
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 05/15/2017
Print RSS
Richmond goalkeeper Benny Pugh (left) and close defenseman Brendan Hynes (right).
Courtesy: Todd Drexler

BALTIMORE, Md. – All spring long, the University of Richmond men's lacrosse team boasted the country's lowest-scoring defense.

The two players that anchored that suffocating unit made history on Sunday night when seniors Brendan Hynes and Benny Pugh became the first two players in program history to earn First Team All-American accolades, from Inside Lacrosse.

Pugh led the country all season long in goals against average (6.10) and save percentage (.661). He played a career-high 924:40 in goal, limiting his opponents to just 94 goals and racking up a program record of 183 saves, which ranked in the top-15 nationally.

The Powhatan, Virginia, native finished with 568 career saves, only the third active player to reach 500 career saves.

Hynes led the country in caused turnovers with 50, while ranking in the top-40 in the country in ground balls (74). His caused turnovers set a new program record and he was the only player in the country with four or more games of 5+ caused turnovers.

The Mahopac, New York, native finished just five caused turnovers short of the NCAA career record and is one of only two players ever to reach 150 career caused turnovers.

Inside Lacrosse Media All-America Teams
First Team

A-Connor Fields, Albany
A-Matt Rambo, Maryland
A-Pat Spencer, Loyola
M-Sergio Salcido, Syracuse
M-Zach Currier, Princeton
M-Connor Kelly, Maryland
FO-Trevor Baptiste, Denver
SSDM-Isaiah Davis-Allen, Maryland
LSM-Larken Kemp, Brown
D-Tim Muller, Maryland
D-Brendan Hynes, Richmond
D-Scott Firman, Syracuse
G-Benny Pugh, Richmond

Second Team

A-Ben Reeves, Yale
A-Michael Sowers, Princeton
A-Dylan Molloy, Brown
M-Nick Mariano, Syracuse
M-Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame
M-Joel Tinney, Johns Hopkins
FO-TD Ierlan, Albany
SSDM-Zach Goodrich, Towson
LSM-John Sexton, Notre Dame
D-Ben Randall, Ohio State
D-Garrett Epple, Notre Dame
D-Nick Fields, Johns Hopkins
G-Jack Concannon, Hofstra

Third Team

A-Justin Guterding, Duke
A-Connor Cannizzaro, Denver
A-Tom Moore, Binghamton
M-Jake Froccaro, Villanova
M-Ryan Conrad, Virginia
M-Jack Curran, Villanova
FO-Jake Withers, Ohio State
SSDM-Jack Adams, Towson
LSM-Matt Rees, Navy
D-Austin Pifani, North Carolina
D-Jarrod Neumann, Providence
D-Michael Rexrode, Rutgers
G-Christian Carson-Banister, Boston U.

Honorable Mention

Attack: Josh Byrne, Hofstra; Jeff Teat, Cornell; Zed Williams, Virginia; Nick Aponte, Penn State; Chris Cloutier, North Carolina; Tre LeClaire, Ohio State

Midfield: Dox Aitken, Virginia; Eric Scott, Yale; Cal Dearth, Boston U.; Kyle McClancy, Albany; Brian Sherlock, Loyola

Face-Off: Ben Williams, Syracuse; Stephen Kelly, North Carolina; Gerard Arceri, Penn State

Shortstick D-Middie: Drew Schantz, Notre Dame; Tate Jozokos, North Carolina; Tyler Warner, Yale; Thomas Zenker, Duke

Longstick Middie: Chris Keating, Penn; Tyler Mayes, Towson; Matt Neufeldt, Maryland; Troy Reh, Albany; Craig Chick, Lehigh

Defense: Cade van Raaphorst, Duke; Christian Burgdorf, Denver; Chris Fennell, Navy; Alec Tulett, Brown; Chris Sabia, Penn State; Jack Carrigan, Loyola; Stone Sims, Albany

Goalie: Dan Morris, Maryland; Tom Carey, Ohio State; Jacob Stover, Loyola; Tate Boyce, Providence; Nick Hreshko, Monmouth

SoCon Digital Network
Lacrosse (M)
2017 Men's Lacrosse Championship Game Highlights
Lacrosse (M)
SoCon Men's Lacrosse Championship Game 2: Richmond...
Lacrosse (M)
SoCon Men's Lacrosse Game 1: USAFA 11, JU 8
Lacrosse (M)
VOICE Episode 5, Katie Beuerlein and Jon...
Connect with SoConSports