Wofford's Hannah Steelman and Furman's Aaron Templeton
Photo Courtesy of Southern Conference
Furman Sweeps Team Titles for Sixth Straight Year
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 10/27/2018
Print RSS

CULLOWHEE, N.C. – The Furman Paladins earned their sixth consecutive men’s and women’s team titles on Saturday at the Southern Conference Cross Country Championships at the campus of Western Carolina in Cullowhee, North Carolina. Furman’s Aaron Templeton won the men’s 8K race and Hannah Steelman of Wofford took first in the women’s 5K race. Both were recognized as runners of the year for their first-place performances.

The men got things underway at 10 a.m. senior Aaron Templeton, crossed the line with a time of 24:01.52, 12 seconds ahead of the next runner, to claim the 2018 SoCon runner of the year award for the second straight year. He was trailed by ETSU’s Ben Varghese (24:13.98) and Samford’s Dillon Dean (25.06.71), who finished second and third, respectively. Mason Coppi (Furman), Ryan Adams (Furman), Cameron Ponder (Furman), and Daniel Bernal (Furman) rounded out the Nos. 4-7 spots, comprising the first-team All-SoCon honorees.

Furman claimed first place in the men’s team competition with 23 points. ETSU placed second with 57 points and Samford took third with 72 points.

Furman’s Cameron Ponder earned freshman of the year with his sixth-place finish, completing the race in 25:35.63.

In the women’s race, Hannah Steelman nabbed first overall with a time of 17:05.17. She was followed by Furman’s Savannah Carnahan (17:21.81), Emma Grace Hurley (17:40.21) and Gabrielle Jennings (17:45.34), while ETSU's Lindsey Stallworth (17:55.05) rounded out the top five. Samford’s Shian Mallory and Furman’s Riley Burr rounded out the All-SoCon first-team honorees.

ETSU’s Shila Kapaya earned women’s cross country freshman of the year honors with her 20th-place finish, crossing the finish line with a time of 18:55.55.

In the women’s team competition, Furman earned 25 points to take first. Chattanooga checked in second with 84 points and Samford claimed the third spot with 103 points.
Furman’s Brickell and Carnahan claimed the men’s and women’s Pinnacle Awards, which are given to the student-athletes with the highest grade point average on the championship-winning teams who have completed a minimum of two semesters at their institutions.

Furman’s Robert Gary garnered men’s coach of the year honors for the sixth consecutive year and also claimed the women’s coach of the year award for the second consecutive year.

Men’s Team Scores
1. Furman – 23
2. ETSU – 57
3. Samford – 72
4. UNCG - 138
5. VMI - 169
6. Western Carolina - 184
7. Mercer - 185
8. Chattanooga - 203
9. Wofford - 238
10. The Citadel - 262

Women’s Team Scores
1. Furman- 25
2. Chattanooga- 84
3. Samford- 103
T4. ETSU – 126
T4.Wofford – 126
6. Western Carolina – 150
7. UNCG – 180
8. VMI – 190
9. Mercer – 250
10. The Citadel - 281

Men’s First-Team All-SoCon
1. Aaron Templeton, Furman
2. Ben Varghese, ETSU
3. Dillon Dean, Samford
4. Mason Coppi, Furman
5. Ryan Adams, Furman
6. Cameron Ponder, Furman
7. Daniel Bernal, Furman 

Women’s First-Team All-SoCon
1. Hannah Steelman, Wofford
2. Savannah Carnahan, Furman
3. Emma Grace Hurley, Furman
4. Gabrielle Jennings, Furman
5. Lindsey Stallworth, ETSU
6. Shian Mallory, Samford
7. Riley Burr, Furman

Men’s Second-Team All-SoCon
8. Trent Mandato, Furman
9. Jake Ogden, Furman
10. Noah Charles, ETSU
11. Davone Hernandez, VMI
12. Ben Bryant, Samford
13. Owen Bailey, Samford
14. Matthew Scarr, ETSU

Women’s Second-Team All-SoCon
8. Kaitlyn Lingard, Western Carolina
9. Kristlin Gear, Furman
10. Emma Kuntz, Furman
11. Emily Poole, Chattanooga
12. Reilly Caldwell, Furman
13. Makenzie Jones, Chattanooga
14. Jennifer Stephenson, Furman

Men’s All-Freshman Team
8. Thomas Knepshield, UNCG
9. Robert Zell, Mercer
10. Jonathan Boyd, Chattanooga
11. Gavin Jenkins, VMI
12. Gavin Cooper, ETSU
13. Brandon Hernandez, UNCG
14. Cameron Ponder, Furman

Women’s All-Freshman Team
6. Emma Kuntz, Furman
7. Reilly Caldwell, Furman
8. Shila Kapaya, ETSU
9. Genevieve Schwarz, ETSU
10. Mary Thorne, Samford
11. Carter Marchbanks, Samford
12. Hannah Corson, Mercer

Men’s Freshman of the Year
Cameron Ponder, Furman

Women’s Freshman of the Year
Shila Kapaya, ETSU

Men’s Runner of the Year
Aaron Templeton, Furman

Women’s Runner of the Year
Hannah Steelman, Wofford

Men’s Pinnacle Award Recipient
Mason Coppi, Furman

Women’s Pinnacle Award Recipient
Savannah Carnahan, Furman

Men’s Coach of the Year
Robert Gary, Furman

Women’s Coaches of the Year
Robert Gary, Furman

SoCon Digital Network
XCountry (M)
2018 Cross Country Championship Highlights
XCountry (M)
2017 Cross Country Championship Highlights
XCountry (M)
2015 SoCon Cross Country Championship: Award...
XCountry (M)
2015 SoCon Cross Country Championships
Connect with SoConSports