The Citadel Tops Davidson in Wrestling Action
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 12/07/2012
Print RSS
The Citadel's Odie Delaney
Courtesy: The Citadel

CHARLESTON, S.C. – The Citadel’s wrestling team used two pins, a technical fall and five decisions en route to a 32-12 Southern Conference-opening victory over Davidson at McAlister Field House on Thursday evening.

The Citadel (1-1, 1-0 SoCon) continued its domination on the mats against the Wildcats as the wrestling team bettered its overall record to 49-0-1 against the SoCon foe.

Philip Elias gave Davidson (5-2, 0-1 SoCon) an early 6-0 lead pinning Steven Cox in just 1:48 at 125 pounds.

Aaron Hansen jumpstarted the Bulldogs to six consecutive wins in the second bout of the evening as the 133-pounder downed Davidson's Matt Zarth to improve his record to 11-6 on the season.

No. 7-ranked Ugi Khishignyam followed Hansen with an impressive 21-6 technical fall that was earned with riding time at the end of the final period.

Three close decisions by Jordan Dix (4-3), Matt Frisch (4-0) and Vincent Bellaran (13-12) at the 149, 157 and 165 weight classes, respectively, improved the score to a 17-6 margin.

John Duane’s pin at 174 pounds gave The Citadel a 23-6 lead before Davidson’s Scott Patrick earned a pin at 184 pounds in 4:40 to make the score 23-12.

A pin from Odie Delaney (1:25) and a 7-2 decision by Marshall Haas topped off the scoring for the Bulldogs.

Delaney's win by fall marked his 91st career win and 48th career pin as a Bulldog as the redshirt senior closes in on the 100-win and 50-pin marks. Sean Markey, a 2006 Citadel graduate, currently holds the school's win and fall records with 125 and 69, respectively.

The Bulldogs will head to another premiere wrestling open when they travel to Reno, Nev., to compete in the Reno Tournament of Champions on Dec. 16. Davidson will compete next in January, traveling to Pennsylvania to compete at Franklin & Marshall (Jan. 11) and at the Pitt Duals (Jan. 13).

The Citadel 32, Davidson 12
125: Philip Elias (DAV) won by pin over Steven Cox (CIT) at 1:48.
133: Aaron Hansen (CIT) won by decision over Matt Zarth (DAV), 5-2
141: No. 7 Ugi Khishignyam (CIT) won by tech. fall over Sejiro Littleton, 21-6 at 7:00.
149: Jordan Dix (CIT) won by decision over Kevin Birmingham (DAV), 4-3.
157: Matthew Frisch (CIT) won by decision over Nathaniel Powers (DAV), 4-0.
165: Vincent Bellaran (CIT) won by decision over Christopher Cirenza (DAV), 13-12.
174: Jack Duane (CIT) won by pin over Ian Solcz (DAV) at 1:57.
184: Donald Patrick (DAV) won by pin over Jared Hemmings (CIT) at 4:40.
197: Marshall Haas (CIT) won by decision over Carson Stack (DAV), 7-2.
285: #16 Odie Delaney (CIT) won by pin over Eddie Isola (DAV) at 1:25.

SoCon Digital Network
2018 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2017 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2016 SoCon Wrestling Championship Highlights
2015 Wrestling Championship Highlights
Connect with SoConSports