Men's Basketball Coaches Select All-Conference Team
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/05/2009
Print RSS
Davidson's Stephen Curry
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. The Citadel’s Ed Conroy was named 2009 Southern Conference Coach of the Year in postseason balloting by the league’s head coaches.  Conroy guided the Bulldogs to a 15-5 mark in league play and the No. 2 seed in the South Division for this weekend’s Southern Conference Tournament.  As part of the voting, Davidson junior Stephen Curry was named Player of the Year, while teammate Max Paulhus Gosselin earned the inaugural Defensive Player of the Year Award.  Western Carolina’s Harouna Mutombo was named the Freshman of the Year.  Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.


In winning the Player of the Year award for the second consecutive season, Curry becomes the first player to win the award in back-to-back years since Keith Jennings of East Tennessee State in 1990 and 1991. Curry leads the nation in scoring (28.4 ppg) and also leads the Southern Conference in assists (5.8 apg) and steals (2.6 spg).  Paulhus Gosselin  captured the inaugural Defensive Player of the Year Award.  Gosselin helped anchor a Wildcat defense which ranked first in the league in field goal percentage defense (.400) and third in scoring defense (65.7 ppg).


Mutombo, the first Catamount to win the Freshman of the Year Award since Jarvis Hayes in 2000, averaged 14.6 points per game which is the ninth-best average in the conference.  He also ranks third in steals (1.9 spg) and tenth in minutes (30.6 mpg).


In addition to the specialty awards, the head coaches made their selections for the all-conference team.  Curry was joined on the all-conference team by teammate Andrew Lovedale.  Chattanooga and The Citadel also placed two players on the all-conference team.  The Mocs are represented by Nicchaeus Doaks and Stephen McDowell, while Demetrius Nelson and Cameron Wells garnered all-conference plaudits for the Bulldogs. Kellen Brand of Appalachian State, Andrew Goudelock of College of Charleston, Wofford’s Noah Dahlman and Mutombo were also selected to the all-conference team.


Mutombo was also named to the league’s all-freshman team, along with The Citadel’s John Brown, Georgia Southern’s Ben Drayton III, UNC Greensboro’s Damian Eargle and Wofford’s Brad Loesing.


The 2009 Southern Conference Men’s Basketball Tournament begins Friday, March 6 at McKenzie Arena in Chattanooga.  Appalachian State faces Georgia Southern in the first game of the opening round. Tip off is set for 2:00 p.m. 


2008-09 All-Conference

Kellen Brand, Appalachian State

Stephen Curry, Davidson

Noah Dahlman, Wofford

Nicchaeus Doaks, Chattanooga

Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston

Andrew Lovedale, Davidson

Stephen McDowell, Chattanooga

Harouna Mutombo, Western Carolina

Demetrius Nelson, The Citadel

Cameron Wells, The Citadel


All-Freshman Team

John Brown, The Citadel

Ben Drayton III, Georgia Southern

Damian Eargle, UNC Greensboro

Harouna Mutombo, Western Carolina

Brad Loesing, Wofford


Freshman of the Year

Harouna Mutombo, Western Carolina


Defensive Player of the Year

Max Paulhus Gosselin, Davidson


Player of the Year

Stephen Curry, Davidson


Coach of the Year

Ed Conroy, The Citadel

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports