Print RSS
Southern Conference 25th Anniversary Celebration
  Throughout the 2007-08 academic year, the Southern Conference celebrated the silver anniversary occasion of its conducting athletic championships for women. The year-long celebration marked 25 years since the conference held its first championship event for women - a cross country meet -- in the fall of 1983.

Preparations began in 2006 when a committee was selected to determine appropriate ways to honor the early pioneers and contributors in each sport. Anniversary teams in the nine SoCon women's championship sports were chosen by a panel of administrators and coaches. A special 25th anniversary logo was designed and used on printed materials, websites and lapel pins throughout the year.

A special category - 25 of Distinction - honored administrators, coaches and others who made major contributions to the growth of women's athletics in the conference. (A 26th person, Associate Commissioner Sue Arakas, was added to the list by acclamation of the membership in May of 2008.)

A traveling exhibit featuring a video slideshow, stand-up banners featuring timelines and highlights, brochures and dated photos was created and displayed on each campus and at conference championships. The year-long activities were climaxed by a brunch on March 9, 2008 honoring those named to the anniversary teams and 25 of Distinction list. The event was held in conjunction with the conference's basketball tournament in North Charleston, SC.

The SoCon was among the first Division I conferences to conduct championships for women following the NCAA's 1982 decision to begin sponsoring women's championship tournaments. The 25th anniversary celebration was both a reminder of the efforts of so many pioneers as well as a celebration of the enhanced opportunities and skills of today's female athletes.

25th Anniversary Timeline 


25th Anniversary Slideshow


25th Anniversary Logo


25 of Distinction

25th Anniversary Teams 25th Spotlight:  An in-depth look at one member of the 25th Anniversary Team from each member institution.
    Cross Country Mary Jayne Harrelson, Appalachian State Rachael Stern, College of Charleston

Stephanie McNeill, The Citadel

    Soccer Mara Mordini, Davidson Holly Andrews, Elon Megan Dunigan, Furman
    Tennis Martina Veiglova, Georgia Southern Shannon Donovan, UNCG Shannon Wommack, Chattanooga
    Track & Field (Indoor)      
    Track & Field (Outdoor) Ashley Hovda, Western Carolina Jenny Nett, Wofford