AFCA Honors ASUís Moore For Third Straight Season
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 01/10/2008
Print RSS
Appalachian State coach Jerry Moore has led the Mountaineers to three consecutive national championships
Courtesy: Southern Conference

Appalachian State University head coach Jerry Moore became the first Division I coach in the 73-year history of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Coach of the Year awards to receive the prestigious honor three-straight years when the AFCA honored him as its 2007 NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision Coach of the Year on Wednesday evening at the Anaheim Hilton.


In addition to becoming the first mentor at either level of Division I (FBS or FCS) to win the award three years in a row, Moore also became the only three-time winner (consecutive or non-consecutive) in Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) history. He joined North Alabama's Bobby Wallace (Div. II - 1993-95), Augustana's Bob Reade (Div. III - 1983-86) and Mount Union's Larry Kehrs (Div. III - 1996-98, 2000-02) as the only coaches to ever win three-consecutive AFCA Coach of the Year awards at any level.


In his 19th season at Appalachian, Moore led the Mountaineers to a 13-2 record, including a monumental win over FBS No. 5 Michigan in the season opener, and the Apps' third-straight national championship. The winningest coach in Southern Conference history, Moore has compiled a 167-70 record. He is 194-118-2 in 26 years as a head coach, including stints at North Texas and Texas Tech.


The Bonham, Texas native has led ASU to a combined 39-6 record over the past three seasons en route to the three-consecutive national titles. Appalachian dismantled Delaware, 49-21, in the 2007 national championship game, played on Dec. 14 in Chattanooga, Tenn.


SoCon Digital Network
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 10 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 7 Recap
Connect with SoConSports