Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 11/12/2009
Print RSS
Wofford's Ralph Polson was named Coach of the Year
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Wofford and Elon each earned six men's soccer all-conference selections in balloting conducted by the league's head coaches.  Davidson forward Charlie Reiter was named the league's Player of the Year while Wofford's Ralph Polson was selected as the league's Coach of the Year.  Elon's Chris Thomas was tabbed Freshman of the Year.

The Phoenix had four players named to the all-conference first team.  Seniors Justin Wyatt, Erfan Imeni, Steven Kinney and junior Clint Irwin all garnered first-team plaudits for Elon.  Thomas and junior Brad Franks were second-team all-conference selections.

The Terriers, who earned the regular season championship with a record of 5-1-1, placed senior Nick Schuermann and junior Kentrel Owens on the first team.  Junior midfielders Paulo Bonfim and Andrew Eppelsheimer along with seniors Branson Hyatt (defense) and Thomas Hunter (goalkeeper) also earned second-team honors.  Polson was named the league's Coach of the Year after guiding the Terriers to their first regular-season conference championship since joining the league.

College of Charleston's Matt Morris and Sean Flatley, Appalachian State's Arie Muniz, Davidson's Alex Caskey, and Reiter also earned first-team all-conference honors.

Furman's Warren Creavalle and Jonathan Collier were named to the league's second team.  UNCG's tandem of Thomas Campbell and Matt Elliot along with College of Charleston's Zach Prince rounded out the second team.

College of Charleston and Appalachian State each placed three members on the all-freshman team.  Shawn Ferguson, Francis Twohig and Ralph Lundy III, represented the Cougars while David Dodge, Kojo Thompson and J.J. Elder earned all-freshman honors for ASU.  Mike Magnotic and A.J. Nelson of UNCG were named all-freshman.  Davidson's Brian McGue, Furman's Mark Gabriel and Elon's Thomas rounded out the all-freshman team.

The Southern Conference Tournament begins at 5:00 p.m. Friday evening at Snyder Field in Spartanburg, S.C.  College of Charleston will take on Elon in the opening semifinal.  Top-seeded Wofford will square off against UNC Greensboro at 7:30 p.m.   The championship match will take place at 2:00 p.m. Sunday afternoon.

First Team
F     College of Charleston
F      Kentrel Owens, Wofford
F      Charlie Reiter, Davidson
F      Justin Wyatt, Elon
M     Alex Caskey, Davidson
M     Erfan Imeni, Elon
M     Arie Muniz, Appalachian State
D      Sean Flatley, College of Charleston
D      Steven Kinney, Elon
D      Nick Schuermann, Wofford
GK   Clint Irwin, Elon

Second Team
F      Thomas Campbell, UNC Greensboro
F      Zach Prince, College of Charleston
F      Chris Thomas, Elon
M     Paulo Bonfim, Wofford
M     Warren Creavalle, Furman
M     Andrew Eppelsheimer, Wofford
M     Brad Franks, Elon
D      Jonathan Collier, Furman
D      Matt Elliott, UNC Greensboro
D      Branson Hyatt, Wofford
GK   Thomas Hunter, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
F      Mark Gabriel, Furman
F      Mike Magnotic, UNC Greensboro
F      Chris Thomas, Elon
F      Francis Twohig, College of Charleston
M     David Dodge, Appalachian State
M     Ralph Lundy III, College of Charleston
M     Brian McGue, Davidson
M     A.J. Nelson, UNC Greensboro
D      Kojo Thompson, Appalachian State
D      J.J. Elder, Appalachian State
D      Shawn Ferguson, College of Charleston

Player of the Year: Charlie Reiter, Davidson
Freshman of the Year: Chris Thomas, Elon
Coach of the Year: Ralph Polson, Wofford

SoCon Digital Network
Soccer (M)
2017 Men's Soccer Championship Highlights
Soccer (M)
SoCon Men's Soccer Championship Match Highlights
Soccer (M)
SoCon Men's Soccer Semifinals - MERvsWOF
Soccer (M)
2016 SoCon Men's Soccer Semifinal - MERvsWOF
Connect with SoConSports