Chattanooga's Women's Golf Team
Photo Courtesy of Southern Conference
Chattanooga Wins Second Straight Women's Golf Championship
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/19/2011
Print RSS

Final Day Photos

HILTON HEAD ISLAND, S.C. - Chattanooga repeated as Southern Conference champions after shooting a three-day total 900 (+36) and placing all four scorers in the top seven at the 2011 Southern Conference Women's Golf Championship at the Moss Creek Golf Club.

Since the SoCon Tournament has been held at Moss Creek Golf Club since 2009, Chattanooga put together a day-low 292 (+4) and a three-day course low +36.  The Lady Mocs finished comfortably ahead of second place College of Charleston which put together a three-day score of 930 (+66).

Chattanooga's Emma de Groot shot a three-over par 219 for the tournament and led all three days to win her first individual conference title.  The Chattanooga senior earned her fourth consecutive all-conference honor and was selected as the SoCon Player of the Year by the coaches.

Joining de Groot in the top seven for Chattanooga was freshman Jordan Britt (2nd, 222), Maria Juliana Loza (T-5th, 230) and Christine Wolf (T-7th, 231).  Britt, who shot a tournament low two-under par 70 in the final round, was selected on the all-freshman team while Loza and Wolf were honored by the coaches on the all-conference team. 

Also taking home honors for the Lady Mocs were Marion Duvernay and Yushira Budhram, who both received all-freshman recognition.  Along with the players, Chattanooga's Colette Murray was selected as the SoCon Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

College of Charleston finished second for the second straight year and was led by all-conference selection Leigh Whittaker (4th, 230) and Ainhoa Nogales (T-7, 231).

Furman (934) finished four strokes behind the Cougars to claim third while Western Carolina (936) came in fourth place.  Stefanie Kenoyer represented the Paladins on the all-conference team while Josefine Sundh and Malin Jansson were the Catamounts players on the all-conference.

Elon's Tara McFadden was the lone Phoenix on the all-conference team, as the team finished with a three-day total of 956 to come in fifth.

Coming in sixth was UNCG (956), followed by Samford (967) in seventh. 

Wofford (975) finished in eighth place and was led by all-conference selection Alex Rankin (T-7th, 231) and Freshman of the Year Anne Marie Covar.

Appalachian State (979) and The Citadel (1049) complete the final standings, respectively.  Yue Xu from Appalachian State, last season's medalist, earned all-conference for the Mountaineers.

With the win, Chattanooga advances to its third consecutive NCAA regional on May 5-7.

Top-10 Individuals

1. Emma de Groot, Chattanooga                     74-71-74=219             +3

2. Jordan Britt, Chattanooga                           77-75-70=222             +6

3. Alexa Rancourt, Furman                              78-74-73=225             +9

4. Leigh Whittaker, College of Charleston         78-75-76=229             +13

T5. Maria Juliana Loza, Chattanooga               78-80-72=230             +14

T5. Tiffany Schisler, Western Carolina              81-76-73=230             +14

T7. Malin Jannson, Western Carolina               81-77-73=231             +15

T7. Ainhoa Nogales, College of Charleston      77-78-76=231             +15

T7. Alex Rankin, Wofford                                79-75-77=231             +15

T7. Christine Wolf, Chattanooga                      75-80-76=231             +15

Team Standings

1. Chattanooga                               303-305 -292=900           +36

2. College of Charleston                  313-312 -305=930           +66

3. Furman                                       311-319 -303=934           +70

4. Western Carolina                         320-311 -302=936           +72

5. Elon                                            323-311 -309=949           +85

6. UNCG                                         321-319 -326=956           +92

7. Samford                                     323-325 -319=967           +103

8. Wofford                                      332-326 -317=975           +111

9. Appalachian State                       331-319 -329=979           +115

10. The Citadel                                346-351-352=1049         +185

All-Conference Team

Yue Xu, Appalachian State

Leigh Whittaker, College of Charleston

Tara McFadden, Elon

Stefanie Kenoyer, Furman

Emma de Groot, Chattanooga

Maria Juliana Loza, Chattanooga

Christine Wolf, Chattanooga

Malin Jannson, Western Carolina

Josefine Sundh, Western Carolina

Alex Rankin, Wofford

All-Freshman Team

Jordan Britt, Chattanooga

Yushira Budhram, Chattanooga

Marion Duvernay, Chattanooga

Lizzie Bundy, UNCG

Anne Marie Covar, Wofford

Player of the Year

Emma de Groot, Chattanooga

Freshman of the Year

Anne Marie Covar, Wofford

Coach of the Year

Colette Murray, Chattanooga

SoCon Digital Network
Golf (W)
WGOLF 2019 Highlights
Golf (W)
2018 Women's Golf Highlights
Golf (W)
2017 Women's Golf Highlights - Championship
Golf (W)
Women's Golf Championship Highlights
Connect with SoConSports