SoCon Media Selects All-Conference Team & Awards
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 11/20/2012
Print RSS
The Citadel's Kevin Higgins
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - The Southern Conference Sports Media Association selected its Football All-Conference Team and specialty awards for the 2012 season.  Wofford's Eric Breitenstein earned the Roy M. "Legs" Offensive Player of the Year honor for the second consecutive season, while Chattanooga's Davis Tull was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year.  Appalachian State wideout Sean Price earned the Freshman of the Year Award, while The Citadel's Kevin Higgins was named the Wallace Wade Coach of the Year.

Breitenstein led the Southern Conference and ranks fifth nationally with 150.3 rushing yards per game.  A native of Valle Crucis, N.C., he scored 16 touchdowns on the ground for the Terriers and helped Wofford win a share of the Southern Conference regular-season championship with a 6-2 record.  The senior rushed for at least 100 yards in 10 of 11 games this year.  He set a new Southern Conference single-game record with 321 yards at Elon on Sept. 29.

Tull becomes the second UTC defensive lineman in the past four years to win the Defensive Player of the Year Award, as Josh Beard took home the honor in 2009.  Tull leads the SoCon and ranks third nationally with 12.5 sacks.  He ranks sixth nationally with 18.5 tackles for loss and finished the regular season with 56 tackles.  Originally from Knoxville, Tenn., Tull helped anchor the UTC defense, which ranked 10th nationally in total defense.

Price ranks seventh in the nation in receiving yards per game (114.3 ypg) and is eighth in receptions per contest (7.6 rpg).  He has recorded at least 100 receiving yards in six of nine games this year, including a 231-yard effort at Georgia Southern on Nov. 3.  Price caught eight touchdowns on the year and was named the league's Freshman of the Week twice during the season.  He finished the regular season with 1,029 yards on 68 receptions as the Mountaineers earned a share of the SoCon title.

The Citadel was picked eighth in the SoCon preseason rankings before Higgins guided the Bulldogs to a 7-4 overall record and 5-3 mark in the league this season.  The Citadel's five conference wins were the most since 1992, while the seven overall wins matched the mark set in 2007.  Higgins becomes the first Citadel head coach to win the Wallace Wade Coach of the Year Award since Charlie Taaffe in 1990.

Appalachian State led all schools with 10 all-conference selections, including eight on the first team.  Samford placed eight student-athletes on the all-conference team, while Georgia Southern and Chattanooga each had seven honorees.

2012 Media All-Southern Conference Football Team

Roy M. "Legs" Hawley Offensive Player of the Year - Eric Breitenstein, Sr., RB, Wofford
Defensive Player of the Year - Davis Tull, So., DE, Chattanooga
Freshman of the Year - Sean Price, WR, Appalachian State
Wallace Wade Coach of the Year - Kevin Higgins, The Citadel

First Team Offense
QB       Jamal Jackson, Jr., Appalachian State
RB        Steven Miller, Sr., Appalachian State
RB        Eric Breitenstein, Jr., Wofford
OL        Mike Sellers, Sr., The Citadel
OL        Dakota Dozier, Jr., Furman
OL        Dorian Byrd, Jr., Georgia Southern
OL        Ryan Dudchock, Sr., Samford
OL        Jake Miles, Sr., Wofford
TE        Colin Anderson, Sr., Furman
WR       Sean Price, Fr., Appalachian State
WR       Aaron Mellette, Sr., Elon

First Team Defense
DL        Ronald Blair, So., Appalachian State
DL        Brent Russell, Sr., Georgia Southern
DL        Nicholas Williams, Sr., Samford
DL        Davis Tull, So, Chattanooga
LB        Jeremy Kimbrough, Sr., Appalachian State
LB        Wes Dothard, Jr., Chattanooga
LB        Rock Williams, Sr., Western Carolina
DB       Demetrius McCray, Sr., Appalachian State
DB       Troy Sanders, Sr., Appalachian State
DB       Jaquiski Tartt, So., Samford
DB       D.J. Key, Jr., Chattanooga

First Team Specialists
PK        Cameron Yaw, Sr., Samford
P          Sam Martin, Sr., Appalachian State
RS        Jerodis Williams, Sr., Furman

Second Team Offense
QB       Thomas Wilson, Sr., Elon
RB        Jerodis Williams, Sr., Furman
RB        Fabian Truss, Jr., Samford
OL        Logan Daves, So., Georgia Southern
OL        Jacob Kirschenbaum, Sr., Samford
OL        Adam Miller, Sr., Chattanooga
OL        Calvin Cantrell, Sr., Wofford
OL        Ty Gregory, Jr., Wofford
OL        (tie) Jared Singleton, Jr., Wofford
TE        Faysal Shafaat, So., Chattanooga
WR       Andrew Peacock, Jr., Appalachian State
WR       Kelsey Pope, Jr., Samford

Second Team Defense
DL        Chris Billingslea, Sr., The Citadel
DL        Javon Mention, Jr., Georgia Southern
DL        Dion Dubose, Sr., Georgia Southern
DL        Derrick Lott, Jr., Chattanooga
LB        Brandon Grier, Sr., Appalachian State
LB        Jonathan Spain, So., Elon
LB        Alvin Scioneaux, Jr., Wofford
DB       Brandon McCladdie, Jr., The Citadel
DB       Darius Eubanks, Sr., Georgia Southern
DB       JJ Wilcox, Sr., Georgia Southern
DB       Kadeem Wise, Jr., Chattanooga

Second Team Specialists
PK        Adam Shreiner, Sr., Elon
P          Cass Couey, Sr., The Citadel
RS        Fabian Truss, Jr., Samford

SoCon Digital Network
SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 7
SoCon Football Weekly- Week 3
2017 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 1
Connect with SoConSports