Ten SoCon players earn NABC All-District honors
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/14/2018
Print RSS
ETSU's Desonta Bradford
Courtesy: Dakota Hamilton/ETSU

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Ten Southern Conference student-athletes earned spots on the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I All-District 22 teams. The all-district teams are selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC.

The Citadel’s Zane Najdawi, ETSU’s Desonta Bradford, Furman’s Devin Sibley, UNCG’s Francis Alonso and Wofford’s Fletcher Magee earned first-team honors. ETSU’s Jalan McCloud, Furman’s Daniel Fowler and Matt Rafferty and Samford’s Justin Coleman and Demetrius Denzel-Dyson were named to the second team.

The Citadel’s Najdawi, who was named the SoCon Player of the Week twice this season by the league office, finished conference play in the top two of the league in five different statistical categories. He led the league with a 56.1 percent shooting percentage from the field in league games and was second in scoring, 3-point field-goal percentage, total blocks and blocks per game. Najdawi averaged 19.5 points and 2.1 blocks per league game, finished the year with 37 blocks in conference action and shot 47.9 percent from beyond the arc. Najdawi was also ninth in the SoCon with 6.2 rebounds per conference game.

The league coaches’ selections as SoCon Player of the Year for 2017-18, Bradford paced ETSU’s offense with 15.4 points per game and a .474 field-goal percentage. He also led the conference in steals and free throws made while ranking in the top 10 in eight statistical categories.

Furman’s Sibley, a first team All-Southern Conference choice this season, paced the Paladins with 14.9 points per game and added 4.9 rebounds per contest. The Knoxville, Tennessee, native finished his career ranked seventh in school history with 1,817 points and third with 210 3-point baskets.

UNCG’s Alonso was a first-team all-conference selection and the Most Outstanding Player of the SoCon Men’s Basketball Championship presented by General Shale. The junior guard is second in the SoCon in scoring at 15.6 points per game and helped the Spartans win the league’s regular-season and tournament titles. The Malaga, Spain, native is third in the league in 3-pointers (110) and 3-pointers made per game (3.2).

The SoCon media’s pick as the Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year this season, Magee averages a league-best 21.6 points per game. A three-time SoCon Player of the Month selection this season, Magee leads NCAA Division I with 140 3-pointers on the year, second-most in a season in SoCon history and tied for 11th in a season in DI history.

McCloud headlines the all-district second team for ETSU, as the senior guard also received second-team All-SoCon honors this season. McCloud tied Bradford for a team-high, averaging 3.5 assists per game while serving as the 15th-leading scorer in the SoCon at 11.8 points per game.

Furman’s Fowler, a guard from Acworth, Georgia, contributed 11.4 points, 3.9 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game this season en route to garnering third-team All-SoCon accolades. His 153 career steals place him eighth in school history, while his 369 assists are also good for eighth on Furman’s career chart. Fowler’s 1,217 career points rank him 29th in school history.

Furman’s Rafferty, a forward from Hinsdale, Illinois, posted 11.2 points, 7.2 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 1.6 steals per game to join Fowler in earning third-team All-SoCon honors. He shot 59.8 percent from the field and ranked among the league’s best in assist-to-turnover ratio by dishing out 91 assists and committing only 33 turnovers in 33 contests as a junior.

Samford’s Coleman, a junior point guard from Birmingham, Alabama, averaged 13.5 points per contest and led the Southern Conference in both assists and assists per game (6.6). Coleman closed out the season with 210 assists, which marked the second-highest total in school history. He also led the team in minutes (1,040) and minutes per game (32.5).

Denzel-Dyson led the Bulldogs with 15.2 points per game and also pulled down an average of 5.0 rebounds per contest this season. Ranked fourth in the SoCon with 2.5 3-point field goals per game this year, Denzel-Dyson received postseason All-SoCon honors for a second straight season. In 2017, the 6-foot-5 wing player received third-team accolades.

NABC All-District
District 22
First Team
Zane Najdawi, The Citadel, Jr., F
Desonta Bradford, ETSU, Sr., G
Devin Sibley, Furman, Sr., G

Francis Alonzo, UNCG, Jr., G
Fletcher Magee, Wofford, Jr., G
Second Team

Jalan McCloud, ETSU, Sr., G
Daniel Fowler, Furman, Sr., G
Matt Rafferty, Furman, Jr., F
Justin Coleman, Samford, Jr., G

Demetrius Denzel-Dyson, Samford, Sr., G

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports