NCAA East Preliminary fields announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 05/16/2019
Print RSS
Wofford's Hannah Steelman and Furman's Gabbi Jennings are the Nos. 2 and 3 seeds in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, respectively.
Courtesy: Southern Conference

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field and Cross Country Committee has announced the participants for the 2019 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championships preliminary competitions.

Six Southern Conference schools will send 31 representatives to the East Preliminary at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, Florida, for competition May 23-25.

The qualifiers out of these two regions will compete in the NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships held June 5-8 in Austin, Texas.

SoCon schools saw 19 male student-athletes earn 22 spots, with Furman’s Aaron Templeton and Mason Coppi (5,000-meter run, 10,000-meter run) and Western Carolina’s Devaniel Dale (200-meter dash, 400-meter dash) qualifying in two events each. The league had 12 female qualifiers earn 16 spots, as Furman’s Gabbi Jennings (3,000-meter run, 5,000-meter run) and Savannah Carnahan (5,000-meter run, 10,000-meter run) and Wofford’s McLeod Dean (100-meter dash, 200-meter dash) and Hannah Steelman (3,000-meter steeplechase, 5,000-meter run) will pull double duty.

Furman’s Templeton (5,000m) and Carnahan (5,000m) and Wofford’s Steelman (3,000m SC) share the honor of being the SoCon’s highest-seeded student-athletes, as each is a No. 2 seed. The league has three of the top four seeds in the steeplechase, as Furman’s Jennings and Krissy Gear follow Steelman in third and fourth, respectively.

Steelman is the No. 5 seed in the 5,000m, joining Carnahan in the top five, while Templeton is the No. 3 seed in the 10,000m and teammate Frank Lara is seeded eighth.

The Paladins have four declared student-athletes in the men’s 10,000m, as Daniel Bernal joins Templeton, Lara and Coppi in the event.

The full list of declared student-athletes can be found here.

Men’s 100-meter dash
Josiah Johnson, The Citadel

Men’s 200-meter dash
Devaniel Dale, Western Carolina

Men’s 400-meter dash
Devaniel Dale, Western Carolina

Men’s 1,500-meter run
Ryan Adams, Furman
Jake Ogden, Furman

Men’s 5,000-meter run
Aaron Templeton, Furman
Mason Coppi, Furman

Men’s 10,000-meter run
Aaron Templeton, Furman
Frank Lara, Furman
Daniel Bernal, Furman
Mason Coppi, Furman

Men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase
Noah Charles, ETSU

Men’s 110-meter hurdles
Titus Moore, Samford
Emmanuel Tait, Samford

Men’s 400-meter hurdles
Isaiah Ellis, Wofford

Men’s high jump
Dakota Oxendine, Western Carolina
Keyth Fightmaster, Samford
Justin Stuckey, Samford

Men’s long jump
Karon Delince, ETSU
Trini Feggett, Western Carolina

Men’s pole vault
Hugh Duggan, Samford

Men’s triple jump
Dijoun Huitt, Western Carolina

Women’s 100-meter dash
McLeod Dean, Wofford

Women’s 200-meter dash
McLeod Dean, Wofford
Kiana Davis, ETSU

Women’s 800-meter run
Emma Kuntz, Furman

Women’s 1,500-meter run
Karisa Nelson, Samford

Women’s 5,000-meter run
Savannah Carnahan, Furman
Hannah Steelman, Wofford
Gabbi Jennings, Furman
Lindsey Stallworth, ETSU

Women’s 10,000-meter run
Savannah Carnahan, Furman

Women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase
Hannah Steelman, Wofford
Gabbi Jennings, Furman
Krissy Gear, Furman

Women’s long jump
Makaila McIntyre, Western Carolina

Women’s triple jump
Morayo Bhadmos, Samford

Women’s discus throw
Maggie Johnston, Samford

SoCon Digital Network
Outdoor Track (M)
2019 SoCon OTK Recap
Outdoor Track (M)
2017 Outdoor Track & Field Championships
Outdoor Track (M)
2017 Outdoor Track & Field Championships
Outdoor Track (M)
SoCon Outdoor Track and Field Championship Day 2...
Connect with SoConSports