Uploaded Ad
Wofford's Wanink Named to Lieberman Award Watch List
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 10/22/2019
Print RSS
Wofford's Chloe Wanink
Courtesy: Mark Olencki/Wofford

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2020 Nancy Lieberman Award. Wofford senior guard Chloe Wanink, the Southern Conference Preseason Player of the Year, earned a spot on the list.
Now in its twenty-first year, the award recognizes the top point guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. To be considered to this prestigious award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman. Fans can vote on the Women's Starting Five beginning on Friday, October 25.
Wanink, a native of Cameron, Wisconsin, received first team All-SoCon honors last season after leading the SoCon in scoring, averaging 18.8 points per game and 21.0 points in-conference. Wanink became the 14th Terrier to reach 1,000 career points this season, currently eighth all-time in career points (1,354), in addition to breaking program records for most points scored in a game (40), most field goals made in a game (17), and most consecutive double-digit scoring games (14). Last season she had 582 points, third most all-time in a season, on the year while tying the record for most 3-pointers made in a season at 70. and move into second all-time for most career 3-pointers (159, second- 160).
"The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to celebrate both men and women at all levels of the game," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "The students we are recognizing this week on the Women's Starting Five watch lists are tremendous athletes who deserve to be applauded. We look forward to evaluating this year's candidates with Nancy Lieberman, who paved the way for today's female athletes."
The Selection Committee for the Nancy Lieberman Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2020 Lieberman Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.
The winner of the 2020 Lieberman Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five.
Wofford will open the 2019-20 season on Wednesday, November 6, at Auburn.
2020 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates
Te'a Cooper                             Baylor
Crystal Dangerfield                Connecticut
Kelly Campbell                       DePaul
Nicole Cardano-Hillary          George Mason
Ali Patberg                              Indiana
Lauren Dickerson                   Miami-Ohio
Cierra Hooks                           Ohio
Sabrina Ionescu                      Oregon
Destiny Slocum                       Oregon State
Stella Johnson                         Rider
Tyasha Harris                          South Carolina
Tiana England                         St. John's
Sug Sutton                              Texas
Chennedy Carter                     Texas A&M
Miyah Barnes                          UAB
Kay Kay Wright                      UCF
Japreece Dean                         UCLA
Dru Gylten                              Utah
Taja Cole                                Virginia Tech
Chloe Wanink                         Wofford


SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (W)
2019 Women's Basketball Preview - UNCG
Basketball (W)
2019 Women's Basketball Preview - Mercer
Basketball (W)
2019 Women's Basketball Preview: Furman
Basketball (W)
2019 Women's Basketball Preview: ETSU
Connect with SoConSports