SoCon Football Coaches Announce Annual Awards
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 11/22/2005
Print RSS
ASU's Richie Williams
Courtesy: Southern Conference

Complete List of 2005 Coaches All-Conference Selections


2005 SoCon Media Football All-Conference Selections


SPARTANBURG, SC -- The Southern Conference football coaches today named their 2005 All-Southern Conference team as well as their annual individual awards winners. The coaches selected Richie Williams as the Offensive Player of the Year,  Elon’s Chad Nkang and Wofford’s Katon Bethay as Co-Defensive Players of the Year, Appalachian State’s Jerry Moore as the Coach of the Year, Georgia Southern’s Dedrick Bynum the Freshman of the Year and Appalachian State’s Matt Isenhour as the Jacobs Blocking Award winner.


Williams was a unanimous selection for the Offensive Player of the Year award. A 6-3, 190-lb. senior from Camden, SC, Williams led the league with 2,950 total yards of offense, racking up 2,104 yards passing and 846 yards rushing. He has also tossed 14 touchdowns and ran for four more, while being intercepted only four times. His prolific career has him with 8,575 yards of total offense, only 137 yards shy of becoming the SoCon’s all-time leader in that category. Williams is also one of only four signal callers to throw for at least 50 touchdown passes in a career and his 53 is third in the conference annals.


Nkang, a 6-0, 218-lb. junior from Hyattsville, MD, led the nation averaging 13.82 tackles per game, 152 tackles in all. He also added four sacks and 18 tackles for loss. His 25 tackles against Chattanooga ranks him among the top 10 in the conference records for tackles in a game. Bethay, a 6-2, 285-lb. senior from Milton, WI, was among the conference leaders averaging 6.5 tackles per game and picking up 6.5 sacks and 12.5 tackles for loss. His four sacks against VMI ranks him among the top 10 in the conference records for sacks in a game.


The winningest coach in SoCon history, Moore led his 2005 squad to a 6-1 conference record and an 8-3 overall mark to secure the automatic bid to the NCAA I-AA Playoffs. He holds the record for most wins as a member of the SoCon with 136 and has 96 conference wins to his name. This is Moore’s fourth Coach of the Year award, his first since 1995.


Bynum, a 6-0, 198-lb. redshirt freshman from Columbus, GA, played in all 11 games for the Eagles this season. He picked up 24 tackles, one sack and four tackles for loss. He also recovered two fumbles and blocked a kick against Wofford.


Isenhour, a 6-1, 275-lb. junior from Maiden, NC, anchored an offensive line for the Mountaineers that surrendered only eight sacks in 11 games while allowing the offense to accumulate over 4,700 yards of total offense. He was also instrumental in allowing Williams to throw for 2,104 yards and rush for 846 yards.


Conference champion Appalachian State led the way with 12 total selections and 10 first team picks. The Mountaineers placed seven offensive players on the first team, including consensus All-SoCon selection Williams at quarterback. Tight end Daniel Bettis, wide receiver Jermane Little, tackles Grant Oliver and Isenhour, guard Kerry Brown and running back Kevin Richardson joined Williams on the first team. Defensively, the Mountaineers had defensive linemen Marques Murrell and Jason Hunter and defensive back Corey Lynch tabbed first-team all-conference picks.


Furman had 11 players selected to the all-league teams, led by two offensive linemen in offensive guard Patrick Covington and center Corey Stewart. Six Paladins were selected to the second team, including quarterback Ingle Martin who was also tabbed the first team all-conference punter. Western Carolina had 10 selections to the all-league squad.


Three players were unanimous picks:  Appalachian State quarterback Richie Williams, Georgia Southern linebacker John Mohring and Wofford defensive lineman Katon Bethay.


Five players repeated on the Coaches first team from 2004:  ASU’s Williams; Georgia Southern offensive guard Chad Motte, running back Jermaine Austin and Eagle defensive back Terence McBride; and The Citadel’s Shawn Grant. Austin is a four-time all-conference selection, being tabbed a second-team running back in 2002 and a first-team selection in 2003 and 2004. A total of 11 players repeated as all-conference selections from 2004.



SoCon Digital Network
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 10 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 7 Recap
Connect with SoConSports