SoCon Announces 2005-06 Commissioner's and Germann Cups
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 05/31/2006
Print RSS
Courtesy: Southern Conference

HILTON HEAD, SC -- The Southern Conference announced today that Appalachian State has swept the 2005-06 Commissioner’s and Germann Cups. This marks the sixth time in league history that the Mountaineers have won both awards in the same year.


The Mountaineers started the 2005-06 season winning the men’s cross country championship, followed by a conference title for the football team. ASU men’s indoor track and field team finished second at the championship meet and followed it by winning the outdoor meet in late April. The men’s programs also tallied a fifth-place finish in wrestling and a fourth-place finish in the men’s basketball North Division. The Mountaineer women’s cross country team gave ASU its first points with a third-place finish at the championship, followed by a second-place finish in regular season play in volleyball. ASU also won the indoor and outdoor track and field championships and claimed a fourth-place finish in both women’s basketball and softball.  Appalachian State is the only conference school to field a team in all 19 league-sponsored sports.


Appalachian State finished the year with 71 points in the Commissioner’s cup, edging out Chattanooga by two points which finished with 69. Davidson accumulated 67 points to finish third, just ahead of Furman which had 63 points. Elon won the men’s basketball North Division title, baseball regular season title and were the co-champions in men’s tennis to help them finish with 58.5 points and fifth in the cup standings. UNC Greensboro edged Western Carolina to finish sixth by two points, followed by The Citadel, Georgia Southern, College of Charleston and Wofford. VMI also received points as an associate member in wrestling.


The women’s cup was again a tight race going into the spring championship season but Appalachian State had three high finishes to clinch the cup with 71.5 points. College of Charleston finished second with 67 points, only a half a point ahead of Western Carolina, which won the softball regular season title in its first year of competition. Furman picked up 65 points to finish fourth, again only half of a point ahead of fifth-place Chattanooga. Davidson finished up the season with 55.5 points, followed by Georgia Southern which won the softball championship for an extra two points and finished seventh in the cup rankings. UNC Greensboro and Elon tied with 48 points, followed by Wofford and The Citadel.


The Commissioner’s and Germann Cups are awarded annually to the Southern Conference school fielding the league’s best all-around men’s and women’s sports program. Schools earn points based upon its regular season finish, with bonus points going to the team that wins the conference tournament.


The Commissioner’s Cup was inaugurated in 1970 and the Germann Cup was first awarded in 1987. The latter is named after former SoCon Commissioner, Ken Germann, who passed away in 2005.


Appalachian State has claimed the Commissioner’s Cup 26 times since entering the SoCon in 1971, winning 14 of the last 15 cups. Chattanooga won the award in 2004-05.


Only three schools have won the Germann Cup with Furman winning 12 straight. Appalachian State won the inaugural cup and College of Charleston garnered the award in 2004-05.


Commissioner's Cup

1.       Appalachian State               71

2.       Chattanooga                       69

3.       Davidson                             67

4.       Furman                               63

5.       Elon                                  58.5

6.       UNC Greensboro             54.5

7.       Western Carolina                52

8.       College of Charleston      49.5

9        The Citadel                          48

          Georgia Southern                48

11.     Wofford                            41.5

12.     VMI                                        6 


Germann Cup

1.       Appalachian State              72.5

2.       College of Charleston           68

3.       Western Carolina               67.5

4.       Furman                                 65

5.       Chattanooga                      64.5

6.       Davidson                            55.5

7.       Georgia Southern               53.5

8.       UNC Greensboro                  48

          Elon                                       48

10.     Wofford                              28.5

11.     The Citadel                            19





SoCon Digital Network
General News
2016 Southern Conference Hall of Fame Class
General News
VOICE Episode 2 - Chandler Christopher and Alicia...
General News
Mike Buddie named Furman Athletics Director
General News
Mercer's #SoConFest
Connect with SoConSports