Coaches Select All-Southern Conference Football Teams
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 11/25/2008
Print RSS
SoCon Offensive Player of the Year Armanti Edwards
Courtesy: Appalachian State

Edwards, Roman Named Players of the Year


SPARTANBURG, S.C. Appalachian State earned three of the five major awards in the Southern Conference football coaches’ year-end balloting, as junior quarterback Armanti Edwards was named Offensive Player of the Year and junior linebacker Jacque Roman earned Defensive Player of the Year honors. Also, Mountaineers’ head coach Jerry Moore was honored by his peers with his sixth Coach of the Year award.


The coaches selected Samford quarterback Dustin Taliaferro as SoCon Freshman of the Year while Furman senior offensive tackle Joel Bell was voted as the recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Award, which is presented annually to the top blocker in the Southern Conference.


2008 Southern Conference champion and three-time defending national champion Appalachian State led the way with 13 players selected on the all-conference team, including 10 first-team and four second-team picks. Nine Wofford players earned all-conference accolades, including five on offense and four on defense, while Elon (four offense, three defense, two special teams) placed nine players on the all-conference team as well. Furman had six players who were honored by the coaches, and The Citadel and Georgia Southern both had five. Samford had four players earn all-conference accolades while Western Carolina grabbed two all-conference slots.


Edwards continued to excel in his junior season, leading the Mountaineers to a 10-2 overall record and a perfect 8-0 SoCon mark. Along the way, the quarterback accumulated 3,036 yards in total offense to become the SoCon’s all-time total offense leader in just three seasons, and he was responsible for 34 touchdowns, including 25 passing and nine rushing. The Greenwood, S.C., native boasts the second-best passing efficiency rating in the country at 178.5, thanks in part to his 25-to-2 touchdown-to-interception ratio and his current streak of 171 consecutive passes without an interception.


Roman was a stalwart for an Appalachian defensive unit that ranked second in the league in scoring defense and third in total defense. He is currently second in the conference in total tackles at 107 and second in fumbles recovered with three. A native of Kingland, Ga., Roman also recorded six tackles for loss, three sacks and two interceptions on the campaign.


Taliaferro, Samford’s freshman quarterback, was named Freshman of the Year after finishing his rookie season as the league’s second-highest rated passer (146.9). Taliaferro completed 151-of-225 pass attempts for 1,745 yards and 13 touchdowns, compared to just five interceptions. The signal-caller from Roswell, Ga., guided the Bulldogs to a 4-4 SoCon mark in their inaugural SoCon season while winning three of four league road games.


The 6-8, 308-pound Bell was selected as the SoCon’s top blocker, becoming the first Paladin to take home the honor since 2004 (Ben Bainbridge) and the league-best 13th overall winner from Furman. A native of Spartanburg, S.C., who played just two years of high school football before coming to Furman, Bell was also a first-team all-conference choice by the league’s coaches for the second straight season. The Jacobs Blocking Award has been presented each season since 1933 to the top blocker in the Southern Conference and is presented by the family of Dr. William P. Jacobs II.


Moore was honored after guiding ASU to just the third perfect SoCon season since 1998 a year after losing 12 starters to graduation from his third national championship team. The Mountaineers rebounded from a 1-2 start to win nine consecutive contests while pushing their SoCon win streak to 12 games.


Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players in the voting process.




2008 Coaches All-Southern Conference Football Team


Offensive Player of the Year Armanti Edwards, Appalachian State

Defensive Player of the Year Jacque Roman, Appalachian State

Freshman of the Year Dustin Taliaferro, Samford

Jacobs Blocking Award Joel Bell, Furman

Coach of the Year Jerry Moore, Appalachian State


First Team Offense

QB    Armanti Edwards, Jr., Appalachian State

RB     Chris Evans, So., Samford

RB     Dane Romero, Sr., Wofford

OL     Jon Bieschke, Sr., Appalachian State

OL     Brad Coley, Sr., Appalachian State

OL     David Harrison, Jr., Elon

OL     Joel Bell, Sr., Furman

OL     Derek Wooten, Sr., Wofford

OL     Dan DeHaven, Jr., The Citadel

TE     Ben Jorden, Fr., Appalachian State

WR    Andre Roberts, Jr., The Citadel

WR    Terrell Hudgins, Jr., Elon


First Team Defense

DL     Dakota Walker, Sr., Georgia Southern

DL     Mitch Clark, Jr., Wofford

DL     Jabari Fletcher, So., Appalachian State

DL     Terrence Reese, Jr., The Citadel

LB     Jacque Roman, Jr., Appalachian State

LB     Chris Covington, Sr., Georgia Southern

LB     Pierre Banks, Sr., Appalachian State

DB    Cortez Gilbert, Jr., Appalachian State

DB    Mark LeGree, So., Appalachian State

DB    William Middleton, Sr., Furman

DB    Thomas Twitty, Sr., Furman

DB    Max Lerner, So., Furman


First Team Specialists

PK     Andrew Wilcox, Sr., Elon

P       Neil Young, Sr., Appalachian State

RS     Andre Roberts, Jr., The Citadel



Second Team Offense

QB    Scott Riddle, So., Elon

RB     Brandon Newsome, So., Elon

RB     Mike Brown, So., Furman

OL     Ben Quick, Sr., Wofford

OL     Mario Acitelli, Jr., Appalachian State

OL     Daniel Kilgore, So., Appalachian State

OL     Ben Miller, Sr., Wofford

OL     Jon Weber, Jr., Samford

OL     Dio Herrera, Sr., Georgia Southern

TE     Taylor Cornett, Sr., The Citadel

WR    Raja Andrews, Sr., Georgia Southern

WR    Andy Strickland, Sr., Wofford


Second Team Defense

DL     Anthony Williams, Jr., Appalachian State

DL     Jeff Bradley, Sr., Western Carolina

DL     Eric Ludwig, Jr., Elon

DL     Layton Baker, Sr., Wofford

LB     Corey Weaver, Sr., Elon

LB     Bryce Smith, So., Samford

LB     D.J. Smith, So., Appalachian State

DB    Andy Davis, So., Samford

DB    Mychael Johnson, Jr., Wofford

DB    Walker White, Jr., Elon

DB    Jason Leventis, Sr., Wofford

DB    Mitchell Bell, So., Western Carolina


Second Team Specialists

PK     Adrian Mora, Fr., Georgia Southern

P       Brandon Lane, Sr., Elon

RS     Adam Mims, So., Furman

SoCon Digital Network
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 7
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 6
SoConFB What's in the Box
2019 Football Helmets
Connect with SoConSports