Print RSS

Southern Conference Hall of Fame

In May of 2008, the Executive Committee of the Southern Conference approved the creation of a Hall of Fame to honor outstanding student-athletes, coaches and administrators. The project had been a stated goal of Commissioner Iamarino's office for nearly two years prior to adoption.

Athletes must have competed in a SoCon-sponsored sport for a minimum of two years to be eligible, and must be at least five years removed from attending the institution as a student-athlete. Coaches and administrators must have been part of the conference for a minimum of five years.

Initial Hall of Fame nominees were sought from all 12 current member institutions as well as the 31 athletic programs that were once SoCon members. In all, 254 nominations were received. A committee within the conference office reduced the original list to a more manageable 45-person ballot. A voting panel composed of 20 past and present administrators and media was then asked to vote for 10 candidates.

The first induction ceremony was held on May 4, 2009 at the Chapman Cultural Center in Spartanburg, S.C. Among those in attendance were such notable sports figures as Jerry West, Sam Huff, Dick Groat and Frank Selvy. Arnold Palmer was out of the country on business, but videotaped his acceptance remarks for those in attendance.

In the fall of 2009, the conference created a special contributor category to honor administrators. The first inductee in this category, which will be filled periodically, was J. Dallas Shirley, longtime SoCon basketball coordinator of officials.

The Class of 2010 induction ceremony took place on June 1, 2010 at the Crowne Plaza Resort on Hilton Head Island, S.C., as part of the league's annual Honors Dinner. Among those honored were legendary coaches Everett Case and Wallace Wade, and basketball greats Hot Rod Hundley and Fred Hetzel.

The 2011 Hall of Fame ceremony was held on May 24 in Charleston, SC, at the Charleston Marriott. The third class included six former SoCon greats, Lefty Driesell, Gen. Robert Neyland, Dexter Coakley, Vic Seixas, Shannon Wommack and Regina Kirk.

The Class of 2012 induction ceremony will be held Thursday, March 1 at the Diana Wortham Theater in Asheville, N.C., prior to the Southern Conference basketball tournament. The league is opening the ceremony up to the public free of charge.  This marks the fourth year the conference has inducted a class of former athletes, coaches and contributors to the league's 91-year history. The 2012 inductees include Angie Barker, Percy Beard, Dick Modzelewski, Paul Scarpa and Jim Burch. To learn more about this year's induction class, view the Hall of Fame Class of 2012 press release.


2011 Induction Class

Dexter Coakley 

Charles "Lefty" Driesell

Regina Kirk 

Gen. Robert Neyland 


Vic Seixas 


Shannon Wommack 


2010 Induction Class

J. Dallas Shirley

Wallace Wade

Everett Case

Banks McFadden


Fred Hetzel

MaryJayne (Harrelson) Reeves "Hot" Rod Hundley



2009 Southern Conference
Inaugural Hall of Fame Inductees





Megan Dunigan

Dick Groat

Sam Huff

Charlie Justice



Melissa Morrison Howard

Arnold Palmer


Adrian Peterson

Frank Selvy

Jerry West

Valorie Whiteside


 2009 Hall of Fame Press Release

SoCon Digital Network
General News
2016 Southern Conference Hall of Fame Class
General News
VOICE Episode 2 - Chandler Christopher and Alicia...
General News
Mike Buddie named Furman Athletics Director
General News
Mercer's #SoConFest
Connect with SoConSports