College of Charleston Picked to Win SoCon Baseball Crown
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 02/01/2007
Print RSS
The College of Charleston's Nick Chigges was named to the first-team preseason squad.
Courtesy: College of Charleston

The College of Charleston, which finished with a 46-17 record in 2006, is the favorite to win the 2007 Southern Conference championship according to a vote of the league’s coaches. The College of Charleston received 69 total votes including five first-place votes. Coaches were not eligible to vote for their own teams or players.


Following the College of Charleston were Western Carolina (62 total votes and two first-place votes), Elon (61 total votes and one first-place vote), Georgia Southern (49 total votes and one first-place vote) and The Citadel (46 total votes). The second division consists of UNC Greensboro (38 total votes), Furman (33 total votes), Appalachian State (20 total votes), Davidson (15 total votes) and Wofford (12 total votes).


Elon won the 2006 regular-season title and finished with a 45-18 overall mark including a 21-6 record in conference play. The College of Charleston won the Southern Conference Tournament and both squads advanced to the NCAA Regionals.


Four first-team preseason all-conference honorees earned All-Southern Conference recognition in 2006 including third baseman Jonathan Greene (Western Carolina), outfielder Chris Swauger (The Citadel), outfielder Steve Strausbaugh (Western Carolina) and designated hitter Robert Rodebaugh (Elon).


The College of Charleston placed four players on the first-team preseason all-league team while Elon and Western Carolina landed three players each. The Citadel, Davidson and Wofford each had one player honored.


In all, six College of Charleston players earned first-team or second-team recognition. Western Carolina boasted five honorees amd The Citadel and Elon landed four players on the teams while Davidson had three players honored. Georgia Southern and Wofford landed two players on the teams.


The 2007 Southern Conference Baseball Tournament is scheduled for May 22-26 at Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park on the campus of The Citadel in Charleston, S.C. All 10 teams qualify for the double-elimination tournament.


Predicted Order of Finish

(Voted by the league’s head coaches. Coaches were not eligible to vote for their own team).

College of Charleston (5)             69

Western Carolina (2)                  62

Elon (1)                                     61

Georgia Southern (1)                  49

The Citadel                                46

UNC Greensboro                        38

Furman                                     33

Appalachian State                      20

Davidson                                   15

Wofford                                     12


Preseason All-Southern Conference Baseball Team


Position                       Name (School)                         Avg.     HR        RBI

Catcher                         Alex Garabedian (CofC)              .366      6          51

First Base                     Chris Vasami (Elon)                   .322      14         57

Second Base                 Shane Kirkley (Wof)                   .322      12         40

Shortstop                      Oliver Marmol (CofC)                  .314      2          33

Third Base                     Jonathan Greene (WCU) .338      14         54

Outfield                         Steven Strausbaugh (WCU)        .340      17         64

Outfield                         Chris Swauger (Cit)                    .356      7          43

Outfield                         Gregory Zage (Dav)                    .320      12         49

Designated Hitter           Robert Rodebaugh (Elon)            .340      11         60

                                                                                    W-L      ERA      Sv

Starting Pitcher              Nick Chigges (CofC)                   11-2      1.40      0

Starting Pitcher              Steven Hensley (Elon)                6-5        5.29      0

Starting Pitcher              Danny Meszaros (CofC)              9-2        3.22      1

Relief Pitcher                 Greg Holland (WCU)                   4-4        2.51      9



Position                       Name (School)                         Avg.     HR        RBI

Catcher                         Griffin Benedict (GSU)                .303      5          35

First Base                     Alden Crissey (Dav)                    .332      7          44        

Second Base                 Chris Campbell (CofC)                .319      4          58

Shortstop                      Mike Gilmartin (Wof)                  Did not play in 2006      

Third Base                     Adam Weaver (Elon)                  .329      3          47        

Outfield                         Sonny Meade (Cit)                     .306      3          50

Outfield                         Matt Miller (GSU)                       .351      4          21

Outfield                         Barrett Shaft (WCU)                   .354      1          37

Designated Hitter           Rob Wilson (Dav)                       .285      7          37

                                                                                    W-L      ERA      Sv

Starting Pitcher              Wes Wrenn (Cit)                        6-2        3.88      0

Starting Pitcher              Jeff Beliveau (CofC)                    6-4        3.40      0

Starting Pitcher              Tyler Sexton (WCU)                  8-6        4.04      0

Relief Pitcher                 Link Saunders (Cit)                    5-6        3.21      15

SoCon Digital Network
2017 Baseball Championship Day Highlights
2017 Baseball Championship: Game 15 Highlights,...
2017 Baseball Championship: Game 14 Highlights,...
2017 Baseball Championship: Game 13 Highlights,...
Connect with SoConSports