Appalachian State Captures the 2006-07 Commissioner's Cup
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 05/29/2007
Print RSS
Appalachian State won the Commissioner's Cup for the 26th time
Courtesy: Southern Conference

Appalachian State captured the 2006-07 Commissioner’s Cup emblematic of the top men’s athletics program among Southern Conference institutions. Each school receives points based on its finish during the regular season and is awarded two additional points for winning the conference tournament. In sports where there is not a regular season champion (golf, track & field and cross country), the final results at the championship determine the points for those schools.


Appalachian State amassed 86.5 points followed by UNC Greensboro (70.5), Chattanooga (64), Davidson (60.5), Furman (57), Western Carolina (51.5), Elon (51), College of Charleston (46.5), The Citadel (44), Wofford (41.5), Georgia Southern (41) and VMI (9).


Appalachian State won the Southern Conference crowns in football, cross country and indoor track & field and shared the regular season title in basketball. UNC Greensboro won the regular season and tournament championship in soccer while Davidson won a share of the regular season basketball title and won the conference tournament. Chattanooga won titles in golf and wrestling. Western Carolina won the outdoor track & field crown and a share of the regular season baseball title with the College of Charleston with Wofford winning the conference tournament. Elon won both the regular season and tournament crown in men's tennis.


The Commissioner’s Cup was inaugurated in 1970. Only six member institutions have won the cup with Appalachian State winning the most with 26. Chattanooga broke Appalachian State’s streak of 13 consecutive when it won the 2004-05 cup. Appalachian State has now won the last three Commissioner’s Cups. William & Mary (5), East Carolina (4), East Tennessee State (1) and Furman (1) have each won the Commissioner’s Cup.


Final 2006-07 Commissioner’s Cup Standings

            1. Appalachian State      86.5

            2. UNC Greensboro        70.5

            3. Chattanooga              64

            4. Davidson                   60.5

            5. Furman                     57

            6. Western Carolina       51.5

            7. Elon                          51

            8. College of Charleston  46.5

            9. The Citadel                44

            10. Wofford                    41.5

            10. Georgia Southern     41

            12. VMI                         9





SoCon Digital Network
General News
2016 Southern Conference Hall of Fame Class
General News
VOICE Episode 2 - Chandler Christopher and Alicia...
General News
Mike Buddie named Furman Athletics Director
General News
Mercer's #SoConFest
Connect with SoConSports