SoCon Commissioner's & Germann Cups
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 06/07/2010
Print RSS

The Southern Conference annually awards the Commissioner's Cup and Germann Cup to the top men's and women's program in the league based on a points system.


Using a system modeled after the one used in determining the Learfield Sports Directors' Cup, scoring is done on a percentage basis, with only the top seven sports for each school counting toward its season total. The scoring format has been in place since the 2014-15 academic year.


The SoCon sponsors 22 total sports, with 11 men's sports, 10 women's sports and one co-ed sport, rifle. The league's co-ed rifle teams count toward the Commissioner's Cup scores, while the schools that also field women's-only rifle squads, The Citadel and VMI, see those scores count toward the Germann Cup.

Each sport is worth 10 points, with each spot in the standings given equal measure relative to how many schools sponsor that particular sport. For sports that determine a regular-season champion, there is a two-point bonus for winning the league tournament. Each school's total for the year will be divided by 70, the maximum number of points possible when counting seven sports, to find its percentage.

The Commissioner's Cup was first awarded in 1970. Only six member institutions have won the cup, with former member Appalachian State holding the most with 34. Chattanooga, which broke Appalachian State's streak of 13 straight when it won the 2004-05 cup, won the first one under the new scoring format, edging Mercer by just 0.0002 points to claim the 2014-15 edition. 
William & Mary (5), East Carolina (4), ETSU (3) and Furman (1) have all won the Commissioner's Cup.


The Germann Cup was first awarded in 1987 and is named after former SoCon commissioner Ken Germann, who passed away in 2005. Only five schools have won the award, beginning with Appalachian State from 1987-92. Furman won the cup in the 1992-93 academic year and won 12 straight before former member College of Charleston first won it in 2004-05. Chattanooga claimed its first cup in 2007-08, followed by College of Charleston and Samford. Appalachian State picked up its ninth win in the 2010-11 academic year, followed by College of Charleston with its third. The Mountaineers took home their 10th cup in 2012-13 and Furman added its 13th in 2013-14. Samford won the inaugural cup under the new scoring format in 2014-15, while Furman extended its record with its 14th in 2015-16 and 15th in 2016-17.



Commissioner's Cup (men)
 Past champions, standings

Germann Cup (women)
Past champions, standings

Commissioner's Cup

Germann Cup

SoCon Digital Network
General News
2016 Southern Conference Hall of Fame Class
General News
VOICE Episode 2 - Chandler Christopher and Alicia...
General News
Mike Buddie named Furman Athletics Director
General News
Mercer's #SoConFest
Connect with SoConSports