D.S. McAlister Sportsmanship Award
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 08/11/2008
Send Mail Print RSS

Inaugurated in 1980, the D.S. McAlister Award is presented annually to the Southern Conference school which is judged to have exhibited the highest degree of sportsmanship in the conduct of its athletic program.  The award is named after Col. D.S. McAlister of The Citadel, who served as Southern Conference secretary-treasurer for 38 years.


1979-80                Davidson

1980-81                Furman

1981-82                Furman

1982-83                The Citadel

1983-84                The Citadel

1984-85                VMI

1985-86                VMI

1986-87                Western Carolina

1987-88                VMI

1988-89                VMI

1989-90                VMI

1990-91                VMI

1991-92                VMI

1992-93                VMI

1993-94                Furman

1994-95                Davidson

1995-96                Western Carolina

1996-97                Furman

1997-98                Wofford

1998-99                Davidson

1999-00                VMI

2000-01                VMI

2001-02                Davidson

2002-03                Davidson

2003-04                Wofford

2004-05                Elon

2005-06                Elon

2006-07                Wofford

2007-08                The Citadel
2008-09                Elon
2009-10                Wofford

2010-11                Wofford

2011-12                Samford

2012-13                Furman

SoCon Digital Network
Mercer's #SoConFest
SoCon History Video
2014 SALI Video
Connect with SoConSports
Where Are They Now: Chris Swecker
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - MaryJayne (Harrelson) Reeves
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - Fred Hetzel
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - Everett Case
2013 SoCon SALI Photo Gallery
2012 SALI - Student-Athlete Leadership Institute
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - Wallace Wade
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - J. Dallas Shirley
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - Rod Hundley
2010 Hall of Fame Inductee - Banks McFadden
Where Are They Now: Heath Eslinger
Mary Jane Middelkoop
Where Are They Now: Richard Johnson
Vic Seixas
Regina Kirk
ViVi Brown
Dexter Coakley
Where Are They Now: Andrew Lovedale
2011 SALI
Where Are They Now: Veronica Day
2012 Hall of Fame: Paul Scarpa
2012 Hall of Fame: Percy Beard
Where Are They Now: Special Feature, SoCon Interns
2012 Hall of Fame: Jim Burch
Clint Hill
Where Are They Now: Caroline Blair
Brooke Bentley
Gen. Robert Neyland
2012 Hall of Fame: Dick Modzelewski
Shannon Wommack
2014 Honors Dinner
2014 SoCon SALI Photo Gallery
Lefty Driesell
2012 Hall of Fame: Angie Barker