- Official Website of the Southern Conference
Mercer's Thomas named NCBWA Preseason All-American
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 02/05/2018
Mercer's JT Thomas
Courtesy: Bill Hirsh/Mercer Athletics

DALLAS – Mercer senior catcher JT Thomas received his second preseason All-America nod Monday afternoon as he was named to the 2018 NCBWA Preseason All-America First Team.
Thomas, who was recognized as a preseason All-America First Team selection by Collegiate Baseball in December, is the lone Southern Conference player on the association's three teams. He is one of three players from Georgia programs across the three preseason teams, joining Georgia Tech's Joey Bart (second team, catcher) and Wade Bailey (second team, second baseman).
Thomas made a splash in 2017 after transferring to Mercer from Chattahoochee Valley Community College (Ala.), leading the Bears in batting average (.357), hits (75), doubles (20), RBIs (62), total bases (131), slugging percentage (.624) and on base percentage (.454). He earned All-SoCon First Team honors as well as an All-American Honorable Mention by Perfect Game/Rawlings.
Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,
Looking Ahead

  • Season tickets for Mercer's 34 home games are available at
  • The Bears, who earned 11 votes in the USA Today Coaches Poll, open the 2018 campaign against Bethune-Cookman on Feb. 16 at OrthoGeorgia Park.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
JT Thomas Mercer 5-10 185 Sr. Woodstock, Ga.
1B Alfonso Rivas Arizona 5-11 191 Jr. San Diego, Calif.
2B Nick Madrigal Oregon State 5-8 165 Jr. Elk Grove, Calif.
3B Johnny Aiello Wake Forest 6-3 215 Jr. Lansdale, Pa.
SS Braden Shewmake Texas A&M 6-4 190 So. Wylie, Texas
OF Travis Swaggerty South Alabama 5-11 180 Jr. Mandeville, La.
OF Tristan Pompey Kentucky 6-4 205 Jr. Toronto, Ont.
OF Jake McCarthy Virginia 6-2 200 Jr. Scranton, Pa.
OF Matt Wallner Southern Miss 6-5 220 So. Forest Lake, Minn.
DH Logan McRae College of Charleston 6-1 190 r-Jr. Florence, S.C.
UT Braden Zarbnisky West Virginia 6-3 185 Jr. Marietta, Ga.
SP Miguel Ausua Oral Roberts 6-0 180 Sr. Penuelas, P.R.
SP Logan Gilbert Stetson 6-6 225 Jr. Apopka, Fla.
SP Steven Gingery Texas Tech 6-2 190 Jr. Huntington Beach, Calif.
SP Sean Mooney St. John's 6-1 200 So. Marmora, N.J.
SP Jared Janczak TCU 6-1 210 r-Jr. Belton, Texas
SP Trey Cumbie Houston 6-2 206 Jr. Lufkin, Texas
RP Michael Byrne Florida 6-3 210 Jr. Orlando, Fla.
RP Durbin Feltman TCU 6-0 190 Jr. Conroe, Texas
RP Josh Hiatt North Carolina 5-11 190 R-So. Charlotte, N.C.
RP Kenyon Yovan Oregon 6-3 222 So. Beaverton, Ore.
RP Nick Sandlin Southern Miss 5-11 170 Jr. Evans, Ga.
Second Team: C Joey Bart, Georgia Tech, Jr.; 1B Seth Beer, Clemson, Jr.; 1B Andrew Vaughn, California, So.; 2B Wade Bailey, Georgia Tech, Sr.; SS Jeremy Eierman, Missouri State, Jr.; 3B Taylor Schwaner, SE Louisiana, Sr.; OF D.J. Artis, Liberty, Jr.; OF Noah Cummings, Oral Roberts, Jr.; OF Jake Mangum, Mississippi State, Jr.; OF Brandon Gutzler, Murray State, Sr.; DH Kevin Milam, St. Mary's, So.; UT Matt Lloyd, Indiana, Jr.; SP Tyler Holton, Florida State, Jr.; SP Sean Hjelle, Kentucky, Jr.; SP Casey Mize, Auburn, Jr.; SP Patrick Raby, Vanderbilt, Jr.; SP Brady Singer, Florida, Jr.; SP Konnor Pilkington, Mississippi State, Jr.; SP Nick Sprengel, San Diego, Jr.; RP Ross Learnard, Purdue, Sr.;l RP Sam Bordner, Louisville, Jr.; RP Jake Mulholland, Oregon State, So.; RP Beau Ridgeway, Texas, Jr.; RP Brett Conine, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.
Third Team: C JJ Schwarz, Florida, Sr.; C Shea Langeliers, Baylor, So.; 1B Luken Baker, TCU, Jr.; 2B Brennon Anderson, BYU, Sr.; 2B Ako Thomas, Michigan, Jr.; SS Tyler Frank, Florida Atlantic, Jr.; 3B Sam Fragale, Virginia Tech, r-Sr.; OF Antoine Duplantis, LSU, Jr.; OF Niko Hulsizer, Morehead State, Jr.; OF Jackson Lueck, Florida State, Jr.; OF Zach Watson, LSU, So.; OF Steele Walker, Oklahoma, Jr.; DH Aaron Aucker, Middle Tennessee, Sr.; UT Luis Alvarado, Nebraska, Sr.; SP Kris Bubic, Stanford, Jr.; SP Matt Canterino, Rice, So.; SP Zach Hess, LSU, So.; SP Nolan Kingham, Texas, Jr.; SP Jackson Kowar, Florida, Jr.; SP Jon Olson, UCLA, Jr.; RP Naithen Dewsnap, CSU Bakersfield, Sr.; RP Troy Montemayor, Baylor, Sr.; RP Alex Padilla, UIC, r-Jr.; RP Dallas Woolfolk, Ole Miss, Jr.; RP Chris Rivera, Long Beach State, Jr.

To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care