Softball All-Conference Teams Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 05/06/2013
Print RSS
Appalachian State's Allie Cashion
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Southern Conference regular season champion Appalachian State earned one first team all-conference team selections, one second team all-conference selection, two all-freshman team honorees and two individual awards in balloting conducted by the league’s nine softball coaches, the conference office announced Monday.

The Mountaineers’ head coach, Shae Wesley, was named Southern Conference Coach of the Year in her third year at the helm. Appalachian State clinched its first regular-season title after finishing the 2013 campaign at 30-20 with a 17-7 league record.

Appalachian State senior outfielder Allie Cashion was named the league’s Player of the Year and was selected to the all-conference first team. Cashion is third in the league in RBI and ranks in the top-10 in batting average, slugging percentage, on-base percentage, and home runs. The senior also leads the league in doubles with 18.

Cashion was the only first-team selection for the Mountaineers, while catcher Sarah Warnock earned a second-team spot and freshmen Alex Sohl and Shivaun Landeros were named to the all-freshman team.

Georgia Southern’s Sarah Purvis garnered her second-consecutive Pitcher of the Year award, while also being named first-team all-conference. The junior tallied 14 wins on the year, including 11 in conference play. She is third in the league with 168.0 innings pitched and ranks second in the league in strikeouts (180) and games started (27). The right-hander from Warner Robbins, Ga., posted a 2.17 ERA on the year.

Joining Purvis on the first team for the Eagels was shortstop Kourtny Thomas, while designated player Shelby Morrill earned a second team spot.

UNCG led the way with ten all-conference selections. Freshman of the Year Lindsay Thomas was named first-team, along with designated player Katelyn Bedwell. Pitcher Raeanne Hanks, first baseman Eileen Horsmon, shortstop Heather Robb, outfielders Allison Geiner and Tatiana Alcala, and utility player Aisha Figueroa were named second team. Thomas and Geiner both earned spots on the all-freshman team, as well.

Behind the Spartans’ ten all-conference selections, College of Charleston had seven honorees, followed by Chattanooga with five and Appalachian State with four. Georgia Southern and Furman each had three selections, followed by Elon with two and Samford with one.

The 2013 Southern Conference Softball Championship begins Wednesday (May 8) at the UNCG Softball Stadium in Greensboro, N.C.  The championship game is scheduled for Saturday (May 11) at 1:00 p.m. and will be broadcast on ESPN3.

2013 Southern Conference Softball All-Conference Teams

First Team

Pitcher: Hope Klicker, College of Charleston
Pitcher: Sarah Purvis, Georgia Southern
Catcher: Lindsay Thomas, UNCG
1B: Chandler Frisbie, College of Charleston
2B: Ashton Jarrett, College of Charleston
SS: Kourtny Thomas, Georgia Southern
3B: Kelsey Hodgson, College of Charleston
OF: Allie Cashion, Appalachian State
OF: Tomeka Watson, Elon
OF: Carleigh Nester, Elon
Designated Player: Katelyn Bedwell, UNCG
Utility: Lauren Collier, Furman

Second Team

Pitcher: Stephanie Saylors, College of Charleston
Pitcher: Lauren Collier, Furman
Pitcher: Raeanne Hanks, UNCG
C: Sarah Warnock, Appalachian State
1B: Eileen Horsmon, UNCG
2B: Sara Poteat, Chattanooga
SS: Heather Robb, UNCG
3B: Sarah Beth Roberts, Chattanooga
OF: Allison Geiner, UNCG
OF: Tatiana Alcala, UNCG
OF: Sam Taylor, Chattanooga
Designated Player: Shelby Morrill, Georgia Southern
Utility: Aisha Figueroa, UNCG

All-Freshman Team

Alex Sohl, Appalachian State
Shivaun Landeros, Appalachian State
Chandler Frisbie, College of Charleston
Becca Mueller, College of Charleston
Sieara Bishop, Furman
Lindsay Thomas, UNCG
Allison Geiner, UNCG
Megan Dowdy, Samford
Sam Taylor, Chattanooga
Anyssa Robles, Chattanooga

Player of the Year

Allie Cashion, Appalachian State

Pitcher of the Year

Sarah Purvis, Georgia Southern

Freshman of the Year

Lindsay Thomas, UNCG

Coach of the Year

Shae Wesley, Appalachian State

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2017-18 SoCon Recap
2018 Softball Championship Highlight
2018 Softball Tournament Highlights - Day 3
2018 Softball Tournament Highlights - Day 2 - Part...
Connect with SoConSports