Men's Tennis Awards Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/22/2010
Print RSS
CofC's Lukas Koncilia
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - College of Charleston's Lukas Koncilia has been named the Southern Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year as the league announced its postseason awards Thursday (April 22).  Chattanooga's Roberto Vieira was named the conference's Freshman of the Year while Elon's Philip Nemec earned the league's Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award.  CofC head coach Jay Bruner was named Coach of the Year.  Postseason balloting was conducted by the league's head coaches who were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Koncilia posted a 15-4 mark at No. 1 singles for the Cougars this spring, including a 9-1 record in conference matches. A winner in each of his last eight singles matches, Koncilia also was named first team all-conference.  In addition, the pairing of Koncilia and Tom Delme earned first team all-conference honors in doubles competition.

Bruner guided CofC to the conference's regular season championship as the Cougars went 10-0 in league play and posted a record of 16-3 overall this spring after finishing 11-14 a season ago.

Elon's Nemec earned the Sportsmanship Award after finishing 7-3 in conference matches at No. 1 singles for the Phoenix.  Nemec also earned first team all-conference honors.

In addition to Nemec, Koncilia's teammate, Mickael Trintignac, was also named to the league's all conference first team.  They were joined by Furman's Sawyer Duncan, UNC Greensboro's Orcun Seyrek and Chattanooga's Roberto Vieira.

Appalachian State's tandem of Trent Constance and Peter Jacobs was named first team all-conference.  They finished with a league-high 15 victories at No. 1 doubles and were 9-1 in conference play.  Due to a tie in the voting, four doubles teams earned first team accolades.  The ASU pair was joined by Davidson's Eric Noble and Joe Schafer, UNC Greensboro's Orcun Seyrek and Arsel Kumdereli and College of Charleston's Koncilia and Delme.    

Second team all-conference selections were awarded based on position.  Samford's Carson Kadi and Zac Dunkle were chosen at No. 1 and No. 2, respectively.  Furman's Carl Lundberg earned the nod at No. 3 singles while Mickael Boyer of College of Charleston was selected at No. 4.  The second team all-conference spot at No. 5 singles went to Davidson's Calum Gee, while Elon's Thomas Darling, who was 9-0 in league matches, was selected at No. 6 singles.

The Citadel's team of Yufo Sutantio and Alberto Diaz were tabbed the No. 1 doubles team.  Elon's Philip Nemec and Cody Stauffer-MacDowell earned the honor at No. 2 doubles.  College of Charleston's Mickael Boyer and Mickael Trintignac were selected as the No. 3 doubles pair.

Vieira led a group of six individuals who comprise the league's all-freshman team.  He finished with an overall mark of 12-7 in singles play this spring, including a 5-4 record in the conference.  Vieira was joined on the all-freshman team by The Citadel's David Orces, Davidson's Joe Schafer, Furman's Lundberg, Georgia Southern's Juan Manuel Melian Puigventos and Samford's Zac Dunkle. 

The College of Charleston will host the 2010 Southern Conference Men's Tennis Championships this weekend at the Patriots Point Tennis Center.  Tournament action begins Saturday at 8:30 a.m.

2010 Southern Conference Men's Tennis Awards 
First Team
Lukas Koncilia, College of Charleston
Mickael Trintignac, College of Charleston
Philip Nemec, Elon
Sawyer Duncan, Furman
Orcun Seyrek, UNC Greensboro
Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga

Trent Constance/Peter Jacobs, Appalachian State
Tom Delme/Lukas Koncilia, College of Charleston
Joe Schafer/Eric Noble, Davidson
Orcun Seyrek/Arsel Kumdereli, UNC Greensboro

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 - Carson Kadi, Samford
No. 2 - Zac Dunkle, Samford
No. 3 - Carl Lundberg, Furman
No. 4 - Mickael Boyer, College of Charleston
No. 5 - Calum Gee, Davidson
No. 6 - Thomas Darling, Elon

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 - Alberto Diaz/Yufo Sutantio, The Citadel
No. 2 - Philip Nemec/Cody Stauffer-MacDowell, Elon
No. 3 - Mickael Boyer/Mickael Trintignac, CofC

David Orces, The Citadel
Joe Schafer, Davidson
Carl Lundberg, Furman
Juan Manuel Melian Puigventos, Georgia Southern
Zac Dunkle, Samford
Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga

Player of the Year
Lukas Koncilia, College of Charleston

Freshman of the Year
Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award
Philip Nemec, Elon

Coach of the Year
Jay Bruner, College of Charleston


SoCon Digital Network
Golf (W)
2018 Women's Golf Highlights
Basketball (M)
2018 Men's Basketball Championship Highlights
Basketball (W)
2018 Women's Basketball Championship Highlights
2018 Wrestling Championship Highlights
Connect with SoConSports