Furman and ETSU Advance To Men's Tennis Final
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/25/2015
Print RSS
SoCon Tennis
Courtesy: Southern Conference

ETSU 4, Samford 1
Furman 4, Wofford 1

GREENVILLE, S.C. – ETSU and Furman  will square off Sunday in the 2015 Southern Conference Men’s Tennis Championship final.  The top-seeded Bucs advanced to Sunday’s match with a 4-1 win over No. 4 Samford, while No. 2 Furman held off No. 6 Wofford, 4-1, to advance.

The Bucs picked up wins at No. 2 and No. 3 to claim the early 1-0 in doubles play.  Ismael Merino and Robert Herrera defeated Austin Akers and Henry Moore, 8-3 at the No. 2 position.  Sebastian Yllera and Conner Huertas claimed an 8-6 win over Fares Kilani and Justin Ghavami, 8-6 at No. 3 doubles.

ETSU claimed a 2-0 lead when Yllera knocked off Edouardo Lourido in straight sets (6-3, 6-0).  Samford got on the board with a 6-4, 6-3 win from Trey Carter at No. 3 singles.

From there the Bucs picked up two more wins to claim the match.  Herrera secured a 6-4, 7-6 (7-2) win over Jake Faundez at No. 6 just minutes before David Biosca clinched the victory for ETSU with a come-from behind three-set win over Fares Kilani (3-6, 6-2, 6-3) at No. 1.

The Paladins secured the doubles point with wins at No. 1 and No. 3.  Matt Browne and Ben Horst topped Walker Heffron and Rob Galloway, 8-3, at the top doubles position while Jacob Behal and Juan Sheppard downed Parks Thompson and David Sklar, 8-2.

Ben Horst’s 6-1, 6-2 win over Parks Schoen at No. 4 gave the Paladins a 2-0 lead in the match.  The Paladins pushed forward 3-0 when Sheppard pulled out a three-set win over Thompson at No. 6 singles, 6-4, 1-6, 6-3.

Haris Poric continued his strong play for the Terriers as the all-conference honoree rallied after dropping the first set to claim a 7-6, 6-3, 6-1 win over Browne at No. 2.   Jacob Behal sent Furman through to Sunday with a thrilling three-set victory.  After dropping the first set, 6-2, he rallied to take the claim the second set 6-1.  The third set went all the way to a tiebreaker where Behal held off David Sklar, 14-12, giving Furman the team win.

The Men’s Championships match is set for 2pm Sunday afternoon.

SoCon Digital Network
2019 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2018 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2017 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2016 SoCon Wrestling Championship Highlights
Connect with SoConSports