SoCon Sports Media Association Names All-Conference Team
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/02/2004
Print RSS
NORTH CHARLESTON, SC -- The Southern Conference Sports Media Association today named its men?s basketball All-Conference team and postseason award recipients.

Just as the coaches did yesterday, East Tennessee State?s Zakee Wadood was named the league?s Player of the Year by the media. Wadood, a 6-6, 210-pound senior, has led East Tennessee State to a 24-5 record and a 15-1 SoCon record and the top seed in the North Division for the upcoming Southern Conference Basketball Championship which begins on Wednesday, March 3 at the North Charleston Coliseum. Western Carolina?s Kevin Martin was the runner-up in Player of the Year voting while ETSU?s Tim Smith finished third.

The media also agreed with the coaches in the selection of the Coach of the Year and the Freshman of the Year. East Tennessee State?s Murry Bartow was named the Coach of the Year and Furman?s Quan Prowell was selected as the Freshman of the Year. Bartow has led the Bucs to a 24-5 overall record which includes a school-record 16-game winning streak. Georgia Southern head coach Jeff Price finished second in Coach of the Year voting and Furman?s Larry Davis finished third.

Prowell is the second-leading freshman scorer in the SoCon with a 10.1 scoring average. Elon?s Matt Nowlin was the runner-up for Freshman of the Year while Furman?s Robby Bostain and Citadel?s J?mel Everhart tied for third.

The All-Conference first team includes Wadood as well as Western Carolina?s Kevin Martin, Tim Smith of East Tennessee State, Ashley Champion of Chattanooga and Davidson?s Brendan Winters.

The second team includes Thomas Mobley of the College of Charleston, Frank Bennett of Georgia Southern, Jackson Atoyebi of Elon, Maleye Ndoye of Furman and East Tennessee State?s Jerald Fields.

The third team consists of UNCG?s Jay Joseph and Ronnie Burrell, Howard Wilkerson of Wofford, Terry Williams of Georgia Southern, and College of Charleston?s Tony Mitchell.

2004 SoCon Media All-Conference Team
First Team
Zakee Wadood, East Tennessee State
Kevin Martin, Western Carolina
Tim Smith, East Tennessee State
Ashley Champion, Chattanooga
Brendan Winters, Davidson

Second Team
Thomas Mobley, College of Charleston
Frank Bennett, Georgia Soouthern
Jackson Atoyebi, Elon
Maleye Ndoye, Furman
Jerald Fields, East Tennessee State

Third Team
Jay Joseph, UNC Greensboro
Ronnie Burrell, UNC Greensboro
Howard Wilkerson, Wofford
Terry Williams, Georgia Southern
Tony Mitchell, College of Charleston

Player of the Year
Zakee Wadood, East Tennessee State
Freshman of the Year
Quan Prowell, Furman
Coach of the Year
Murry Bartow, East Tennessee State

Women's Basketball Media All-Conference Selections
NORTH CHARLESTON, SC -- The Southern Conference announced today the 2004 women?s basketball media all-conference teams and awards. Chattanooga?s Katasha Brown and Wes Moore were named the player and coach of the year by the league?s media while Davidson?s Katie Hamilton earned the freshman of the year honor. All three were also honored with these awards by the women?s basketball coaches.

Brown, a sophomore guard from Tazewell, TN, led the Lady Mocs and conference shooting 43.6 percent from three-point range while picking up a team-high 15 blocks on the season. She is third in the league in scoring, averaging 14.5 points per game.

A guard from Lilburn, GA, Hamilton was tabbed the Freshman of the Year. Hamilton led Davidson averaging 12 points and picked up 35 steals. She also averaged four rebounds per game and hit 44 treys in the regular season, shooting 40.7 percent from beyond the arc. Hamilton is the leading scorer among the league?s freshmen.

Chattanooga?s head coach Wes Moore led the Lady Mocs to a 25-2 overall record and a perfect 20-0 league record to earn the Coach of the Year award. Moore directed UTC 23-straight wins, the longest active win streak in the nation, while picking up 26 consecutive conference wins dating back to the 2002-03 season.

Chattanooga?s Katie Galloway joined Brown on the first team along with ETSU?s Tiffani Mayes, Furman?s Desheara Shealey and Western Carolina?s Tiffany Hamm. The second team includes Holly Andrews and Courtney Nyborg from Elon, Chattanooga?s Tiffani Roberson, UNCG?s Jacinda Lambert and Western Carolina?s Jennifer Gardner.

2004 Women?s Basketball Media All-Conference Team
First Team
Tiffani Mayes, ETSU
Deshara Shealey, Furman
Katasha Brown, UTC
Katie Galloway, UTC
Tiffany Hamm, WCU

Second Team:
Holly Andrews, Elon
Courtney Nyborg, Elon
Tiffani Roberson, UTC
Jacinda Lambert, UNCG
Jennifer Gardner, WCU

Player of the Year:
Katasha Brown, Chattanooga

Freshman of the Year:
Katie Hamilton, Davidson

Coach of the Year:
Wes Moore, Chattanooga

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2018 Men's Basketball Championship Highlights
Basketball (M)
2017 Basketball Countdown to Tip Off: Chattanooga
Basketball (M)
2017 Basketball Countdown to Tip Off: The Citadel
Basketball (M)
2017 Basketball Countdown to Tip Off: VMI
Connect with SoConSports