SoCon Media names All-Conference squad
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/01/2005
Print RSS
CHATTANOOGA, TN -- The Southern Conference Sports Media Association today named Davidson?s Brendan Winters as the 2004-05 Player of the Year. Davidson?s Bob McKillop was named the Coach of the Year and UNC Greensboro?s Kyle Hines was named the Freshman of the Year.

Winters, a 6-5, 200-pound junior from Denver, CO (Mullen/Worcester Academy), has led Davidson to an undefeated conference season in the Southern Conference at 16-0. The Wildcats are the top seed in the 2005 Kyocera Southern Conference Basketball Championship which begins on Wednesday, March 2 at the McKenzie Arena in Chattanooga.

Winters is third in the SoCon in scoring with a 16.3 average. Davidson is the first Southern Conference team to complete an undefeated conference season since the College of Charleston was 16-0 in 1998-99. Davidson, Pacific of the Big West Conference and Illinois of the Big Ten are the only teams in NCAA Division I without a conference loss this season. Georgia Southern junior guard Elton Nesbitt was the runner-up for the Player of the Year award in the media voting. East Tennessee State?s Tim Smith finished third followed by College of Charleston?s Tony Mitchell, Furman?s Moussa Diagne and Wofford?s Tyler Berg.

Hines, a 6-6, 195-pound forward from Sicklerville, NJ (Timber Creek) was named the Freshman of the Year. He leads the SoCon with a .618 field goal percentage, is second in rebounding at 8.9 per game and is the conference?s ninth-leading scorer at 13.9 points per game. Warren McLendon of The Citadel was second in the Freshman balloting followed by Drew Gibson of Wofford, George Brozos of Furman and Trey Hopkins of Western Carolina.

McKillop has led Davidson to a 20-7 regular season record and the Southern Conference?s outright championship in the South Division. This is the fourth time McKillop has been named the coach of the year by the media, also receiving the honor in 1994, 1996 and 2002. During the 2004-05 season, McKillop set the conference record for SoCon victories in a career. He now has 144 career SoCon victories. He ranks third in conference history in overall wins with 234. Chattanooga head coach John Shulman, who led the Mocs to the North Division title in his first year, was the runner-up for the coach of the year award. Appalachian State?s Houston Fancher and Furman?s Larry Davis tied for third in the coach of the year voting.

Winters also headlines the five-member media all-conference first team. He is joined on the squad by a trio of guards including East Tennessee State?s Tim Smith, Georgia Southern?s Elton Nesbitt, and Tony Mitchell of the College of Charleston. Mindaugas Katelynas of Chattanooga is the forward on the first team.

The second team includes Davidson forward Logan Kosmalski, guard Terry Williams and forward Jean Francois of Georgia Southern along with forward Ronnie Burrell of UNC Greensboro and Wofford center Tyler Berg.

The third team consists of forwards Kyle Hines of UNC Greensboro, Chris Brown of Chattanooga, Moussa Diagne of Furman as well as Appalachian State guard D.J. Thompson and Western Carolina center David Berghoefer.

Media First Team
Brendan Winters, Davidson
Elton Nesbitt, Georgia Southern
Tim Smith, East Tennessee State
Tony Mitchell, College of Charleston
Mindaugas Katelynas, Chattanooga

Media Second Team
Logan Kosmalski, Davidson
Ronnie Burrell, UNC Greensboro
Jean Francois Georgia Southern
Terry Williams, Georgia Southern
Tyler Berg, Wofford

Media Third Team
Kyle Hines, UNC Greensboro
Chris Brown, Chattanooga
D.J. Thompson, Appalachian State
Moussa Diagne, Furman
David Berghoefer, Western Carolina

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2018 Men's Basketball Championship Highlights
Basketball (M)
2017 Basketball Countdown to Tip Off: Chattanooga
Basketball (M)
2017 Basketball Countdown to Tip Off: The Citadel
Basketball (M)
2017 Basketball Countdown to Tip Off: VMI
Connect with SoConSports