2019 MBK tourney
Sites set for three future women's lacrosse tourneys
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 01/18/2018
Print RSS
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The sites for three future Southern Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championships have been determined by a vote of the league’s six women’s lacrosse institutions. Furman has been awarded the 2019 championship, Central Michigan was awarded the 2020 championship and Mercer will host the 2021 tournament.

Full SoCon members Furman, Mercer and Wofford and associate members Central Michigan, Delaware State and Detroit Mercy comprise the six-team league, which begins its inaugural season under the SoCon banner in 2018.

The SoCon Women’s Lacrosse Championship features the top four seeds, with semifinals on Thursday and the championship final on Saturday. Mercer will host the 2018 edition of the tournament, as previously announced.

Furman will host the 2019 tournament on May 2 and 4 at Paladin Stadium in Greenville, South Carolina. Central Michigan will host the 2020 championship on April 30 and May 2 at its CMU Lacrosse Complex in Mount Pleasant, Michigan, while Mercer will host the 2021 tournament on April 29 and May 1 at Five Star Stadium in Macon, Georgia, the site of the SoCon’s inaugural championship this May 3 and 5. 

The 2018 Southern Conference women’s lacrosse season gets under way Saturday, Feb. 10, with two teams in action. Mercer will host Liberty and Wofford will open its first-ever women’s lacrosse season when it welcomes Gardner-Webb.

Future Southern Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship host sites
2019 Furman
2020 Central Michigan
2021 Mercer

SoCon Digital Network
Lacrosse (W)
Connect with SoConSports