Coaches Select Indoor Track and Field Awards
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/01/2017
Print RSS
Samford's Selena Popp
Courtesy: Todd Drexler

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Furman’s Ryan Adams claimed the 2017 Southern Conference most outstanding track performer on the men’s side, while ETSU’s Katrina Seymour took the women’s track honor in awards voted on by the league’s coaches, which were based on performances at the 2017 Southern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships, the league office announced Wednesday. ETSU’s Nathan Rivera earned the men’s most outstanding field athlete accolade, and Samford’s Selena Popp snagged field honors on the women’s side.

Samford’s Emmanuel Tait was tabbed the men’s freshman of the year on the men’s side, while Furman’s Savannah Carnahan and Samford’s Presley Weems tied for honors on the women’s side.

Western Carolina head coach Cale McDaniel was voted the conference’s men’s coach of the year and Samford’s Rod Tiffin was named the women’s coach of the year.

Adams, a sophomore, won the men’s 800-meter run (1:53.02) and ran the third leg on Furman’s first-place distance medley relay team, which won the event in 10:05.42. Adams also placed second behind teammate Troy Reeder with a time of 4:16.35 to help the Paladins sweep top-three finishes for the Paladins in the event.

Seymour saw first place in every even she participated in the championship meet on her home track at ETSU. The New Providence, Bahamas, native won the women’s 60-meter dash (7.57), 200-meter dash (24.32), 400-meter run (55.91) and was member of the Bucs’ winning 4x400-meter relay team (3:50.04) to earn a total of 32.5 points for the Bucs. Seymour earned the most points out of any competitor at the meet and was named the women’s most outstanding athlete of the meet.

Rivera accounted for 20 of the Bucs’ 137 points on the men’s side. The senior won the men’s heptathlon with a score of 5,041 points, surpassing his seed of 3,591 by nearly 1,500 points. Rivera swept the first-four heptathlon events on the first day of competition, which consisted of the 60-meter dash, long jump, shot put and high jump events. The Knoxville, Tennessee, native placed third in the men’s long jump with a distance of 7.00 meters (22-11.75). Rivera also placed sixth in the men’s high jump with a height of 1.90 meters (6-02.75) and eighth in the 60-meter hurdles (8.76), gaining an additional four points for the Bucs, which placed third overall in the championship meet.

Popp broke the SoCon championship meet record in the women’s pentathlon with a score of 3,779 points after winning the high jump, shot put and long jump events. Popp, a sophomore for the Bulldogs, also won the women’s high jump with best mark of 1.75 meters (5-08.75). The Hixon, Tennessee, native notched a fifth-place finish in the long jump (5.66m, 18-07.00) to register 24 Bulldog points for the meet.

Tait was the highest scoring freshman, registering 18 points for the Bulldogs after winning the 60-meter hurdles (8.13) and placing second in the 60-meter dash (6.81).

Carnahan paced Furman, which swept top-four finishes in the women’s 5,000-meter run, with a leading time of 16:41.82. Carnahan also placed fifth in the 3,000-meter run, crossing the finish line in 9:43.72. For the meet Carnahan earned 15 points for Furman. The Cumming, Georgia, native was the top freshman finisher in the women’s 5,000-meter run at the 2016 SoCon Cross Country championship.

Weems won the women’s 800-meter run with a time of 2:13.91 and ran the first leg of distance medley relay for the Bulldogs, who placed second overall. For the meet, Weems registered 12 points for the champion Bulldogs.


Men’s Awards

Most Outstanding Track Performer

Ryan Adams, Furman

Most Outstanding Field Performer

Nathan Rivera, ETSU

Freshman of the Year

Emmanuel Tait, Samford

Coach of the Year

Cale McDaniel, Western Carolina


Women’s Awards 

Most Outstanding Track Performer

Katrina Seymour, ETSU

Most Outstanding Field Performer

Selena Popp, Samford

Freshman of the Year (tie)

Savannah Carnahan, Furman

Presley Weems, Samford

Coach of the Year

Rod Tiffin, Samford

SoCon Digital Network
Indoor Track (M)
Indoor Track Championship- Day 1 Highlights
Indoor Track (M)
Indoor Track and Field Championship Highlights:...
Indoor Track (M)
Indoor Track and Field Championship Highlights:...
Indoor Track (M)
2017 Indoor Track and Field Promo
Connect with SoConSports