Wofford's Wahrby Named FCS ADA Scholar-Athlete
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/05/2017
Print RSS
SoCon Football
Courtesy: Southern Conference

CLEVELAND - Wofford College offensive lineman Anton Wahrby and Lehigh's Micah Tennant have been chosen as the recipients of the 16th Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athletes of the Year.
Each will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. The duo was selected from a group of nine finalists. They will receive their awards during the Association's annual Awards Luncheon, held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida, June 8-15.

"It is an honor to recognize two young men who are amongst the best and brightest college football student-athletes with the awarding of the 16th Annual FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarships," stated FCS ADA President Mark Wilson, director of athletics at Tennessee Tech University. "On behalf of the Association, I offer my congratulations to Micah and Anton for their dedication and leadership in the classroom, on the field and in the community. We look forward to seeing their continued success in their chosen fields and know they will make us proud."

Tennant, a mechanical engineering major who carried a 3.89 GPA, started all 12 games at left guard as a senior and helped Lehigh to a 9-3 overall record. He was a key member of a veteran offensive line that led the Patriot League in passing offense and ranked second in scoring offense and total defense. Lehigh averaged 534 yards and 45 points per game during its nine-game winning streak. Tennant was a first team CoSIDA Academic All-American this year, and earned CoSIDA Academic All-District and Academic All-Patriot League recognition throughout the course of his career. He plans to stay at Lehigh to attend graduate school to pursue a master's degree in structural engineering.

"This award is a tremendous honor for me to receive, and I am grateful to join the elite group of student-athletes that have come before me," said Tennant. "My career at Lehigh has been very rewarding, and I have been blessed to have learned so many critical lifelong lessons as a part of it. This experience has allowed me to refine my work ethic, competitiveness, and teamwork through the rigors of being a student-athlete at the FCS level."

Wahrby carried a 3.83 GPA studying business economics photo courtesy of Woffordand French, and was recognized as an FCS ADA Academic All-Star in 2015 and 2016. A native of Karlskrona, Sweden, he came to South Carolina as an exchange student in high school. Wahrby started all 14 games as a senior en route to helping Wofford to a 10-4 overall record. While leading the team with 160 knockdown blocks, he was part of an offensive line that blocked for the nation's fourth-ranked rushing offense, and allowed just three sacks on the season to rank second in the country. Over the course of his career, Wahrby made 43 starts on the offensive line, and was an All-Southern Conference First Team selection in addition to earning Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll distinction.

"In addition to being a fine honor, receiving this scholarship will ease my financial strain while attending medical school in Sweden," Wahrby said. "This award will enable me to pursue an academic passion and allow me to become a medical professional, where I will be able to truly make a difference in the lives of others."

There were a total of 44 FCS players selected to the Academic All-Star Team in January. Nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Mark Wilson, Tennessee Tech (chair); Thorr Bjorn, Rhode Island; Bruce McCutcheon, Lafayette; and Bill Smith, Bryant.

SoCon Digital Network
SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 7
SoCon Football Weekly- Week 3
2017 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 1
Connect with SoConSports