Uploaded Ad
2013 All-SoCon Football Team Released
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 07/24/2013
Print RSS
Appalachian State quarterback Jamal Londry-Jackson
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Appalachian State senior quarterback Jamal Londry-Jackson has been named the Southern Conference Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, while Chattanooga’s Davis Tull and Samford’s Jaquiski Tartt shared defensive honors in voting conducted by the league’s head coaches.  

The league’s head coaches also selected all-conference first and second teams in conjunction with the league’s media day on Wednesday (July 24). Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes as part of the balloting.

Named to the 2013 Walter Payton Award Watch List earlier this summer, Londry-Jackson earned first-team all-conference honors in 2012 from the league’s head coaches and media. He led the Southern Conference and ranked 10th in the nation in total offense (300.5 ypg) as a junior and was 14th nationally in pass efficiency (146.96). Londry-Jackson also rushed for 328 yards and six touchdowns last year.  

A junior defensive lineman for the Mocs, Tull was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year as a sophomore. He led the league with a school-record 12.5 sacks a season ago and was fifth in the nation with 18.5 tackles for loss. He finished the year with 56 tackles and added three forced fumbles.  

Tartt was also named to the Buchanan Award Watch List this summer. As a sophomore last season, he recorded 94 tackles, which was tied for seventh in the SoCon. The defensive back led the league with 14 pass break-ups and tied for the league high with four interceptions. Tartt scored two defensive touchdowns last season and finished the year earning All-SoCon and All-American honors.  

Chattanooga led all schools with nine preseason all-conference honorees. The Mocs had six student-athletes earn first-team recognition, while three players were named to the second team. Appalachian State and Samford each had eight players earn preseason all-conference honors. The Mountaineers also placed six student-athletes on the first team and six schools had at least three players earn first-team honors.  

The 2013 Southern Conference football season begins Thursday, Aug. 29, when Western Carolina visits Middle Tennessee and Chattanooga hosts UT Martin. The other seven league teams hit the field for their season openers Aug. 30 and 31.

2013 Southern Conference Football
Preseason All-Conference Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Jamal Londry-Jackson, Sr., QB, Appalachian State
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Jaquiski Tartt, Jr., DB, Samford
                         Davis Tull, Jr., DL, Chattanooga

First Team Offense
QB    Jamal Londry-Jackson, Sr., Appalachian State
RB    Dominique Swope, Jr., Georgia Southern
RB    Fabian Truss, Sr., Samford
OL    Kendall Lamm, Jr., Appalachian State
OL    Dakota Dozier, Sr., Furman
OL    Dorian Byrd, Sr., Georgia Southern
OL    Ty Gregory, Sr., Wofford
OL    Jared Singleton, Sr., Wofford
TE    Faysal Shafaat, Jr., Chattanooga
WR    Andrew Peacock, Sr., Appalachian State
WR     Sean Price, So., Appalachian State
WR    (tie) Kelsey Pope, Sr., Samford

First Team Defense
DL    Ronald Blair, Jr., Appalachian State
DL    Derek Douglas, Sr., The Citadel
DL    Derrick Lott, Sr., Chattanooga
DL    Davis Tull, Jr., Chattanooga
LB    Jonathan Spain, Jr., Elon
LB    Wes Dothard, Sr., Chattanooga
LB    Alvin Scioneaux, Sr., Wofford
DB    Lavelle Westbrooks, Sr., Georgia Southern
DB    Jaquiski Tartt, Jr., Samford
DB    D.J. Key, Sr., Chattanooga
DB    Kadeem Wise, Sr., Chattanooga

First Team Specialists
PK    Ray Early, Sr., Furman
P    Ray Early, Sr., Furman
RS    Tony Washington, Sr., Appalachian State

Second Team Offense
QB    Jacob Huesman, So., Chattanooga
RB    Darien Robinson, Sr., The Citadel
RB    Donovan Johnson, Sr., Wofford
OL    Cullen Brown, Sr., The Citadel
OL    Clay Johnson, Sr., Elon
OL    Garrett Frye, Jr., Georgia Southern
OL    Kasey Morrison, Sr., Samford
OL    Kevin Revis, Sr., Chattanooga
TE    Zeke Walters, Sr., Samford
WR    Kierre Brown, Jr., Elon
WR    Terrell Robinson, Jr., Chattanooga

Second Team Defense
DL    Gary Wilkins, Jr., Furman
DL    Javon Mention, Sr., Georgia Southern
DL    Jerry Mathis, Jr., Samford
DL    Tarek Odom, Jr., Wofford
LB    Carson Smith, Jr., The Citadel
LB    Justin Shade, Sr., Samford
LB    Mike McCrimon, Sr., Wofford
DB    Joel Ross, Jr., Appalachian State
DB    Brandon McCladdie, Sr., The Citadel
DB    Chandler Wrightenberry, Sr., Elon
DB    Ace Clark, Jr, Western Carolina
DB    (tie) James Zotto, Sr., Wofford

Second Team Specialists
PK    Drew Stewart, Sr., Appalachian State
P    Clark Sechrest, Sr., Western Carolina
RS    Fabian Truss, Sr., Samford

NOTE: Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

SoCon Digital Network
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 13
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 12
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 10
SoCon Football Weekly - Week 9
Connect with SoConSports