Preseason All-Conference Teams Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 07/27/2016
Print RSS
WCU's Detrez Newsome
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Western Carolina running back Detrez Newsome has been named the Southern Conference Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, while Chattanooga defensive lineman Keionta Davis was chosen as the preseason pick on defense.

The league’s head coaches also selected preseason all-conference first and second teams in conjunction with the league’s media day on Wednesday (July 27). Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes as part of the balloting.

An all-around threat for the Catamounts, Newsome rushed for 1,109 yards as a sophomore, averaging 5.8 yards per carry last season. He caught 37 passes, including three touchdowns out of the backfield, and averaged 21.6 yards per return on kickoffs in 2015. A first-team all-conference selection last year, the Raeford, N.C., native also completed a 75-yard touchdown pass in the season opener. He produced seven games of at least 150 yards of total offense as a sophomore.

Davis anchored a stout Chattanooga defense that led the Southern Conference in total defense in 2015. The senior recorded 39 tackles, including 17 for loss. The Chattanooga, Tenn., native tallied 13.5 sacks on the season and recorded at least one sack in eight different games as UTC led the league in sacks (34). He added seven quarterback hurries, six pass breakups, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery for the Mocs as a junior.

Chattanooga and Western Carolina each had 10 preseason all-conference selections. The Mocs placed seven players on the first team, while the Catamounts had five first-team selection and five second-team honorees. Samford had eight players earn preseason all-conference honors, while The Citadel earned seven preseason honorees. Eight of the league’s nine teams had at least one first-team selection.

The 2016 Southern Conference football season begins Thursday, Sept. 1, when five SoCon teams hit the field, including a conference matchup between Mercer and The Citadel.

2016 Southern Conference Football: Preseason All-Conference Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Detrez Newsome, Jr., RB, Western Carolina
Defensive Players of the Year: Keionta Davis, Sr., DL, Chattanooga

First Team Offense
QB         Al Cobb, Jr., VMI
RB         Derrick Craine, Sr., Chattanooga
RB         Detrez Newsome, Jr., Western Carolina
OL         Isaiah Pinson, Jr. The Citadel
OL         Brett Niederreither, Sr., Mercer
OL         Armando Bonheur, Sr., Samford
OL         Corey Levin, Sr., Chattanooga
OL         Jacob Revis, Jr., Chattanooga
(tie) OL   Anton Wahrby, Sr., Wofford
TE          Tyler Sexton, Sr., Western Carolina
WR        Karel Hamilton, Sr., Samford
WR        Aaron Sanders, Sr., VMI

First Team Defense
DL         Joe Crochet, Sr., The Citadel
DL         Ahmad Gooden, So., Samford
DL         Keionta Davis, Sr., Chattanooga
DL         Miles Brown, So., Wofford
LB          Tevin Floyd, Sr., The Citadel
LB          Nakevion Leslie, Sr., Chattanooga
LB          Tyson Dickson, Sr., Western Carolina
(tie) LB   Daniel Riddle, Jr., Western Carolina
DB         Dee Delaney, Jr., The Citadel
DB         Trey Robinson, Sr., Furman
DB         Jamerson Blount, Sr., Samford
DB         Lucas Webb, Jr., Chattanooga

First Team Specialists
PK         Henrique Ribeiro, Sr., Chattanooga
P           Ian Berryman, So., Western Carolina
RS         Dane Forlines, Sr., VMI

Second Team Offense
QB         Devlin Hodges, So., Samford
RB         Tyler Renew, Sr., The Citadel
RB         Lorenzo Long, Sr., Wofford
OL         Ryan Bednar, Sr., The Citadel
OL         Josh Cardiello, Jr., Chattanooga
OL         Andrew Lewis, Sr., VMI
OL         Nathan Dalton, So., Western Carolina
OL         Dequan Miller, Sr., Wofford
TE          Sam Walker, So., Mercer
WR        Kelvin McKnight, So., Samford
WR        Spearman Robinson, Sr., Western Carolina

Second Team Defense
DL         Tosin Aguebor, Sr., Mercer
DL         Isaiah Buehler, So., Mercer
DL         Xavier Forrest, Jr., Samford
DL         Vantrel McMillan, Sr., Chattanooga
LB          Carl Rider, Sr., Furman
LB          Ryan Francis, Jr., VMI
LB          Dylan Weigel, So., ETSU
DB         Cedric Nettles, Sr., Chattanooga
DB         Fred Payne, Sr., Western Carolina
DB         Malik Diggs, Sr., The Citadel
DB         Trey Morgan, Sr., Western Carolina

Second Team Specialists
PK         Logan Howard, So., Western Carolina
P           Austin Barnard, Jr., Samford
RS         Chandler Curtis, Jr., Mercer

NOTE: Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

SoCon Digital Network
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 10 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 7 Recap
Connect with SoConSports