UTC's Trotter finalist for Doris Robinson Award
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 12/05/2018
Print RSS
Chattanooga's Alex Trotter
Courtesy: Wes Wilson

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. – University of Tennessee at Chattanooga senior Alex Trotter is among 13 FCS players named as finalists for the 2018 STATS FCS Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award.

Named after the late school teacher and wife of legendary coach Grambling State coach Eddie Robinson, the fourth annual award is presented to an FCS student-athlete who excels not only in the classroom, but in the community and beyond.

Trotter represents the Southern Conference on the list that includes one student-athlete from each of the FCS leagues. He currently boasts a 3.29 GPA as a Mechanical Engineering major and was a nominee for the Allstate Good Works Team.

Trotter recently wrapped up his career at UTC as a four-year letter winner. An Academic All-SoCon honoree, Trotter posted 139 rushing yards and a touchdown on 35 carries this season. He posted a career-best 96 yards on 11 carries against Mercer and had four carries for 21 yards and a touchdown against VMI.

STATS will announce the winner on Monday and honor him at the FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation Jan. 4 in Frisco, Texas - on the eve of the national championship game.

The Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award finalists:
Big Sky Conference: Reggie Tilleman, Montana, DE, R-Sr. (business administration and finance degree, 3.90 GPA)
Big South Conference: Chandler Burks, Kennesaw State, QB, R-Sr. (sport management degree, 3.90)
CAA Football: Christopher Infantino, Stony Brook, OL, Sr. (degree in biology with a specialization in neuroscience and psychology, 3.31)
Ivy League: Jesper Horsted, Princeton, WR, Sr. (sociology major, 3.52)
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: Nick Leverett, North Carolina Central, OL, R-Jr. (criminal justice degree, 3.37)
Missouri Valley Football Conference: Easton Stick, North Dakota State, QB, R-Sr. (sport management degree, 3.92)
Northeast Conference: Matt Fitzpatrick, Duquesne, OL, R-Sr. (finance degree, 3.79)
Ohio Valley Conference: Josh Poplar, Tennessee Tech, LB, R-Jr. (business administration degree, 3.97)
Patriot League: Alex Pechin, Bucknell, P, Sr. (biomedical engineering and management for engineers double major, 3.93)
Pioneer Football League: Tucker Yinger, Dayton, RB, R-Sr. (mechanical engineering major, 3.81)
Southern Conference: Alex Trotter, Chattanooga, RB, Sr. (mechanical engineering major, 3.29)
Southland Conference: Adrian Contreras, Sam Houston State, S, Sr. (business administration/accounting degree, 3.84)
Southwestern Athletic Conference: De'Arius Christmas, Grambling State, LB, Sr. (engineering technology major, 3.82)

Also at the national banquet, STATS will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year) and Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year).

For STATS' rull release, click here.

SoCon Digital Network
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 10 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 7 Recap
Connect with SoConSports