N.C. General Assembly Honors ASU Football Team
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 06/11/2008
Print RSS
Appalachian State has won back-to-back-to-back FCS National Championships
Courtesy: Appalachian State

North Carolina Governor Michael F. Easley and the state's General Assembly honored Appalachian State University's three-time-defending NCAA Division I football national championship squad on Tuesday.


The trip to the state capital began with a visit to the Governor's Mansion, where Gov. Easley proclaimed Tuesday to be "Mountaineer Day" in the state of North Carolina. Seniors Nic Cardwell, Trey Elder, Scott Suttle and Justin Woazeah presented Gov. Easley with a framed picture of the Appalachian's three national championship trophies and an autographed ASU helmet as thanks for his support of the Mountaineers.


Following the gathering at the Governor's Mansion, the Appalachian contingent moved to the N.C. Legislative Building, where a joint resolution lauding the Apps' historic 2007 season and honoring the memory of longtime ASU supporter Miriam Cannon Hayes was passed unanimously by the state's House of Representatives and Senate. ASU head coach Jerry Moore and Chancellor Dr. Kenneth E. Peacock spoke before both bodies of the General Assembly.


Appalachian is the only North Carolina institution to ever win an NCAA football title and the state's only public institution to win a national championship at any level of college football (NCAA or NAIA). The trip to the state capital is the third-straight for the Mountaineers, as they were also honored in Raleigh following their 2005 and '06 national titles.


SoCon Digital Network
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 10 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 7 Recap
Connect with SoConSports