SCSMA Names All-Southern Conference Football Teams
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 11/26/2008
Print RSS
Defensive Player of the Year Chris Covington of Georgia Southern
Courtesy: Georgia Southern University Athletics

Edwards, Covington Named Players of the Year


SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Appalachian State junior quarterback Armanti Edwards picked up his second award in as many days as he was named the Roy M. “Legs” Hawley Offensive Player of the Year by the Southern Conference Sports Media Association (SCMSA). Georgia Southern senior linebacker Chris Covington was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year while Appalachian State head coach Jerry Moore earned Wallace Wade Coach of the Year honors and Samford quarterback Dustin Taliaferro was voted Freshman of the Year.


Appalachian State, the 2008 Southern Conference champion and three-time defending national champion, landed 12 players on the all-conference teams, including nine first-team selections. Led by three players on the first-team defensive unit, Furman landed nine players on the team while Wofford and Elon each grabbed seven spots. Samford was rewarded with five all-SoCon selections followed by The Citadel and Georgia Southern, which each nabbed four citations. Western Carolina also had two players earn all-SoCon accolades.


Edwards was a unanimous choice for Offensive Player of the Year by the SCSMA members, as he was the key component in ASU’s fourth-straight SoCon title run. The junior signal caller passed for 2,146 yards and 25 touchdowns on the season while also rushing for a team-high 890 yards and nine scores. Edwards’ 178.5 passing efficiency rating is the second-highest in the nation, and he has thrown 171 consecutive passes without an interception.


Covington moved from defensive back to linebacker during the season and remained the Eagles’ leader on defense. Covington totaled 95 tackles, including 48 solo stops, in addition to 14.5 tackles-for-loss and 6.5 sacks, ranking fourth or better in the SoCon in each category.


A true freshman, Taliaferro stared all 11 games for Samford this season, leading the Bulldogs to a 6-5 overall mark and 4-4 record in the SoCon in their inaugural season. Taliaferro threw for 1,745 yards and 13 touchdowns on the season, and the freshman excelled in league play, completing 10 touchdowns and just two interceptions over the final seven games of the season.


Moore was honored after guiding ASU to its fourth-straight league championship and only the third undefeated SoCon season since 1998 a year after losing 12 starters to graduation from his third national championship team. The Mountaineers rebounded from a 1-2 start to win nine consecutive contests while pushing their SoCon win streak to 12 games.


2008 SCSMA All-Southern Conference Football Team


Roy M. “Legs” Hawley Offensive Player of the Year – Armanti Edwards, Appalachian State*

Defensive Player of the Year – Chris Covington, Georgia Southern

Freshman of the Year – Dustin Taliaferro, Samford

Wallace Wade Coach of the Year – Jerry Moore, Appalachian State


* - Unanimous selection.


First Team Offense

QB    Armanti Edwards, Jr., Appalachian State

RB     Chris Evans, So., Samford

RB     Dane Romero, Sr., Wofford

OL     Ben Quick, Sr., Wofford

OL     Joel Bell, Sr., Furman

OL     Derek Wooten, Sr., Wofford

OL     Jon Bieschke, Sr., Appalachian State

OL     Mario Aciteli, Jr., Appalachian State

TE     Ben Jorden, Fr., Appalachian State

WR    Andre Roberts, Jr., The Citadel

WR    Terrell Hudgins, Jr., Elon


First Team Defense

DL     Dakota Walker, Sr., Georgia Southern

DL     Jabari Fletcher, So., Appalachian State

DL     Mitch Clark, Jr., Wofford

DL     Patrick Hatcher, So., Samford

LB     Jacque Roman, Jr., Appalachian State

LB     Chris Covington, Sr., Georgia Southern

LB     Brandon Williams, Sr., Furman

DB    Mark LeGree, So., Appalachian State

DB    William Middleton, Sr., Furman

DB    Cortez Gilbert, Jr., Appalachian State

DB    Max Lerner, So., Furman


First Team Specialists

PK     Andrew Wilcox, Sr., Elon

P       Neil Young, Sr., Appalachian State

RS     Andre Roberts, Jr., The Citadel



Second Team Offense

QB    Scott Riddle, So., Elon

RB     Brandon Newsome, So., Elon

RB     Mike Brown, So., Furman

OL     Ben Miller, Sr., Wofford

OL     Brad Coley, Sr., Appalachian State

OL     Chris Werden, Jr., Elon

OL     Thomas Slaughter, Sr., Furman

OL     Mitchell Waters, Sr., Samford

TE     Chris Truss, Jr., Furman

WR    Raja Andrews, Sr., Georgia Southern

WR    Adam Mims, So., Furman


Second Team Defense

DL     Terrence Reese, Jr., The Citadel

DL     Anthony Williams, Jr., Appalachian State

DL     Dewitt Jones, Jr., The Citadel

DL     Jeff Bradley, Sr., Western Carolina

LB     Seth Goldwire, Sr., Wofford

LB     D.J. Smith, So., Appalachian State

LB     Bryce Smith, So., Samford

DB    Mitchell Bell, So., Western Carolina

DB    Jason Leventis, Sr., Wofford

DB    Andy Davis, So., Samford

DB    Walker White, Jr., Elon


Second Team Specialists

PK     Adrian Mora, Fr., Georgia Southern

P       Brandon Lane, Sr., Elon

RS     Adam Mims, So., Furman

SoCon Digital Network
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 10 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 8 Recap
2018 SoCon Football Weekly- Week 7 Recap
Connect with SoConSports