Twenty-one earn spots in NFF Hampshire Honor Society
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/10/2019
Print RSS
Mercer's LeMarkus Bailey
Courtesy: Judy Stapleton/Mercer Athletics

IRVING, Texas – Twenty-one Southern Conference student-athletes were named to the 2019 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday.

Mercer led the way for the SoCon with eight honorees, followed by Western Carolina with five. The Citadel had three, Furman and Wofford had two each and Chattanooga had one.

An all-time high of 1,643 players from a record 424 schools qualified for membership in the society’s 13th year.

Nominated by their respective schools, members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must
• Completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2018; Graduated players, who have remaining eligibility but will not return to collegiate play (e.g. declared for NFL Draft or retired from football), may also be nominated.
• Achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate
study; and
• Met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.
• Been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2018 season.

For the NFF's complete release, click here.

2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society (SoCon honorees)

Jordan Black, The Citadel
Russell Hubbs, The Citadel
Shawn McCord, The Citadel
Harris Roberts, Furman
Wade Smith, Furman
LeMarkus Bailey, Mercer
Brad Earnest, Mercer
Cole Fisher, Mercer
Brandon Gurlet, Mercer
David May, Mercer
Tee Mitchell, Mercer
Matt Shiel, Mercer
Austin Wysor, Mercer
Alex Trotter, Chattanooga
Ian Berryman, Western Carolina
Nathan Dalton, Western Carolina
Corey Holloway, Western Carolina
Kaleb Spry, Western Carolina
Zach Weeks, Western Carolina
Weston Rountree, Wofford
Brandon Zamary, Wofford

SoCon Digital Network
SoConFB What's in the Box
2019 Football Helmets
Commissioner Jim Schaus Press Conference
2018 SoCon Fall Recap
Connect with SoConSports