2019 MBK tourney
USTFCCCA All-Academic Team Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 02/13/2018
Print RSS
Courtesy: Southern Conference

New Orleans, La. - The Southern Conference had three men's teams and four women's teams named 2017 USTFCCCA NCAA DI Cross Country All-Academic Teams, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced on Feb. 9. Overall, there were 423 teams that brought home All-Academic honors. Of those 423 teams, 228 of them were women’s programs and 195 of them men’s.

To qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, the team must have had a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or better and have started at least five at their respective NCAA regional championship. 

For the men, Furman, Chattanooga and Wofford were named to the list while Furman, Samford, Chattanooga and Wofford took home the award on the women's side. 

The SoCon also had 10 named to the 2017 Individual Academic Award list. Individual athletes must  have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or greater and must have finished among the top 25 finishers in their regional meet. Furman led the way with six selections (Josh Brickell, Mason Coppi, Frank Lara, Allie Buchalski, Savannah Carnahan, Emma Grace Hurley) while Samford had three garner the award (Arsene Guillorel, Anna Long, Haley Ward). Wofford's Hannah Steelman rounded out the SoCon honorees.

SoCon Digital Network
XCountry (M)
2018 Cross Country Championship Highlights
XCountry (M)
2017 Cross Country Championship Highlights
XCountry (M)
2015 SoCon Cross Country Championship: Award...
XCountry (M)
2015 SoCon Cross Country Championships
Connect with SoConSports