2019 MBK tourney
SoCon Wrestling Championship set for Saturday
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/01/2018
Print RSS
Campbell enters as the defending champion while Appalachian State won the regular season
Courtesy: Campbell Media Services

ASHEVILLE, N.C. – The Southern Conference Wrestling Championship will take place Saturday at The Citadel’s McAlister Field House in Charleston, South Carolina, with the SoCon title and 12 NCAA allocations on the line. Campbell will try and defend its 2017 tournament title while Appalachian State enters as the regular-season champion for the third-straight year.

Three of last year’s SoCon individual champions will be back in the field this year, defending titles in their respective weight classes. The SoCon was allocated 12 spots for the NCAA Championships, with the 184 and 197-pound weight classes being awarded two each.

Bryce Carr, the 2018 SoCon Wrestler of the Year, is aiming for his second-straight title at 184 pounds. Ranked No. 12 in the NCAA coaches’ panel, Carr will have competition from Appalachian State’s Alan Clothier. Clothier is ranked No. 25 by the coaches’ panel and has an RPI of 16.

Campbell’s Quentin Perez looks to retain the crown at 165 pounds. Perez is 22-7 on the season, going 5-1 in SoCon duals.  Perez will have to fend off SIUE’s Nate Higgins, who was awarded the No. 1 seed, and Chattanooga’s Chad Pyke, who was awarded the No. 2 seed. Higgins was named to the all-conference team while Pyke is ranked No. 32 overall in the coaches’ panel.

Chris Debien, the reigning champion at 133 pounds, enters the 2018 SoCon Wrestling Championship as the No. 3 seed. SIUE’s John Muldoon claimed the No. 1 seed while Appalachian State’s Codi Russell enters as the No. 2 seed. Muldoon went a perfect 5-0 in SoCon duals this season, while Debien was 4-1 and Russell was 6-1. 

Appalachian State’s Randall Diabe enters as the favortie at 197 pounds after going 7-0 in conference matches. Diabe, who was named all-conference, is ranked No. 32 in the NCAA coaches’ panel and has an overall record of 16-7. Chattanooga’s Scottie Boykin, who was the 2016 champion, enters the tournament as the No. 2 seed and is ranked No. 13 overall by the coaches’ panel. Boykin is 23-6 on the season with a record of 6-1 in SoCon duals.

Forrest Przybysz is slated as the No. 1 seed at 174 pounds. Przybysz, who moved up from 165 pounds, is 21-7 overall and 5-0 in the SoCon. Chattanooga’s Justin Lampe enters as the No. 2 seed, posting an overall record of 16-11, going 6-1 in conference.

SoCon Freshman of the Year Korbin Meink earned the No. 1 seed at 125 pounds. Meink was a perfect 6-0 in SoCon duals this season, going 23-9 overall.

Appalachian State’s Gavin Londoff and Angel Najar and are the No. 1 seeds at 149 and 157 pounds, respectively, while SIUE’s Nate Higgins is No. 1 at 165 and Campbell’s Jere Heino enters as the favorite in the heavyweight division.

In 2017, Campbell claimed its first ever SoCon Championship, edging out Appalachian State 89.5 to 86. The Camels and Mountaineers met in the finals in three weight classes, with Campbell prevailing at both 141 and 165 pounds.

Tickets for Saturday’s action, which begins at 10 a.m., will be single-session. Doors open at 9 a.m.

Prices are $15 for adults, $10 for youth (6-12) and $8 each for groups of 10 or more. Students from Southern Conference schools, including wrestling associate member schools, can pick up a ticket free of charge simply by showing their school IDs.

As part of its partnership with Headlock on Hunger, the SoCon will offer $3 off the ticket price with the donation of a food item at the door.

2018 Southern Conference Wrestling Championship Schedule
9 a.m. – Doors open

10 a.m. – First-round matches
12 p.m. – Semifinals
2 p.m. – Consolation quarterfinals (consolation semifinals immediately after)
5:30 p.m. – Consolation finals
7 p.m. – Finals, true-place matches and award presentation 

125 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Korbin Meink, Campbell
2. Zac Gentzler, SIUE
3. Alonzo Allen, Chattanooga
4. Cliff Conway, VMI
5. De’Andre Swinson-Barr, Appalachian State
6. Michael McClelland, Davidson
7. Will Jacobs, The Citadel
8. No entry, Gardner-Webb

133 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. John Muldoon, SIUE
2. Codi Russell, Appalachian State
3. Chris Debien, Chattanooga
4. Philip Anderson, Gardner-Webb
5. Nathan Boston, Campbell
6. Hunter Starner, VMI
7. Patrick Kearney, The Citadel
8. Zamir Ode, Davidson

141 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Mike Pongracz, Chattanooga
2. Jonathan Ryan, Campbell
3. Douglas Gudenburr, The Citadel
4. Irvin Enriquez, Appalachian State
5. Dakota Leach, SIUE
6. Dustin Runzo, Davidson
7. Denton Spencer, Gardner-Webb
8. Michael Hulcher, VMI

149 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Gavin Londoff, Appalachian State
2. Zach Barnes, Campbell
3. Tyshawn Williams, SIUE
4. Ty Buckiso, The Citadel
5. Roman Boylen, Chattanooga
6. Joby Armenta, Gardner-Webb
7. Aiden Conroy, Davidson
8. Will Lawrence, VMI

157 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Angel Najar, Appalachian State
2. Tyler Marinelli, Gardner-Webb
3. Austin Kraisser, Campbell
4. Jake Adcock, Chattanooga
5. Karsten Van Velsor, SIUE
6. Rian Burris, The Citadel
7. Tony Palumbo, Davidson
8. Steve Midkiff, VMI

165 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Nate Higgins, SIUE
2. Chad Pyke, Chattanooga
3. Quentin Perez, Campbell
4. Brett Stein, Gardner-Webb
5. Blake Hohman, VMI
6. Laken Cook, Appalachian State
7. Hunter Costa, Davidson
8. Houston Curtis, The Citadel

174 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Forrest Przybysz, Appalachian State
2. Justin Lampe, Chattanooga
3. Andrew Morgan, Campbell
4. Christian Maroni, Gardner-Webb
5. Bryce Shewan, SIUE
6. Cade Kiely, VMI
7. Noah Satterfield, Davidson
8. Matt McGillick, The Citadel

184 (2 NCAA allocations)
1. Bryce Carr, Chattanooga
2. Alan Clothier, Appalachian State
3. Luke Funck, Campbell
4. Cole Graves, Gardner-Webb
5. Conor Fenn, Davidson
6. Chris Beck, VMI
7. Jake Godinez, SIUE
8. Michael Lopouchanski, The Citadel

197 (2 NCAA allocations)
1. Randall Diabe, Appalachian State
2. Scottie Boykin, Chattanooga
3. Christian Dulaney, SIUE
4. Sawyer Root, The Citadel
5. Anthony Perrine, Gardner-Webb
6. Chris Kober, Campbell
7. Konner Pritchard, Davidson
8. Jake Koch, VMI

285 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Jere Heino, Campbell
2. Cary Miller, Appalachian State
3. Connor Tolley, Chattanooga
4. Michael McAleavey, The Citadel
5. Lathan Bumgarner, Gardner-Webb
6. Tommy Helton, SIUE
7. Jake Tomlinson, VMI
8. Will Cooley, Davidson 

*Seeding subject to change

SoCon Digital Network
2018 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2017 Wrestling Championship Highlights
2016 SoCon Wrestling Championship Highlights
2015 Wrestling Championship Highlights
Connect with SoConSports