Nine named GCAA All-America Scholars
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 07/27/2017
Print RSS
ETSU's Cayman Ratliff
Courtesy: Southern Conference

NORMAN, Okla. – Nine Southern Conference men’s golfers were among the 262 NCAA Division I student-athletes named Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for the 2016-17 academic year, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Wednesday.

To be eligible for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status, an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50 percent of his team’s competitive rounds, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II, 78.0 in NAIA and 79.0 in Division III, and maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Chattanooga led the league with three honorees, as Wes Gosselin, Phillip Hickam and Stuart Thomas earned recognition. Three-time defending league champion ETSU had two on the list in Mateusz Gradecki and Cayman Ratliff, who won the 2017 Pinnacle Award as the member of the championship-winning team with the highest GPA.

Mercer’s Justin Connelly, UNCG’s Joseph Cansler, Samford’s Garrett Moores and Wofford’s Andrew Novak, the 2017 SoCon Player of the Year, also earned the distinction.

Gosselin, Gradecki and Novak were each honored for the second consecutive year.

Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars
Mateusz Gradecki, ETSU
Cayman Ratliff, ETSU
Justin Connelly, Mercer
Joseph Cansler, UNCG
Garrett Moores, Samford
Wes Gosselin, Chattanooga
Phillip Hickam, Chattanooga
Stuart Thomas, Chattanooga
Andrew Novak, Wofford

SoCon Digital Network
Golf (M)
2018 Men's Golf Tournament Highlights
Golf (M)
2017 Men's Golf Championship Highlights
Golf (M)
SoCon Men's Golf Tournament Highlights: Day 3
Golf (M)
SoCon Men's Golf Tournament Highlights: Day 2
Connect with SoConSports