Uploaded Ad
Four SoCon men's teams, 26 athletes honored by ITA
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 07/18/2019
Print RSS
ETSU's Sergi Fontcuberta
Courtesy: ETSU

TEMPE, Ariz. – Five Southern Conference men’s tennis teams were named Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Teams and 26 SoCon student-athletes from six schools were named ITA Scholar-Athletes when the organization announced its annual academic awards Tuesday.

ETSU, Mercer, UNCG and Chattanooga earned the team distinction. Three student-athletes from Furman and two from Samford earned individual mention.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).


Dimitri Badra
Miguel Este
Sergi Fontcuberta
David Gonzalez
Juan Lugo
Chris Mikrovas
Taisei Miyamoto
Mark Papadopoulos


Ivan Mitric
James Roelofse
Drew Singerman


Carver Arant
Fernando Guardia
Nicolas Guillon
Sachin Khurana
Olivier Stuart
Efstathieos Tsiranidis 


Logan Blaser
Roger Rogowski
Cooper Wyett 


Rossouw Norval
Max Rebol


Niklas Gerdes
Cooper Long
Bo Nash
Luke Plaisted

* Denotes All-Academic Team

SoCon Digital Network
Tennis (M)
2019 TEN Recap
Tennis (M)
2017 Men's Tennis Highlights - Championship
Tennis (M)
2017 Men's Tennis Highlights - Day 2
Tennis (M)
2017 Men's Tennis Highlights - Day 1
Connect with SoConSports