Men's Tennis Awards Announced
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/19/2017
Print RSS
UNCG's Connor Thompson
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference announced the individual awards and all-conference teams for the 2017 men’s tennis season today (April 19). UNCG’s Connor Thompson has been named the league’s Player of the Year. Mercer’s Olivier Stuart was tabbed the league’s Freshman of the Year and ETSU’s Ricky Rojas was named the league’s Coach of the Year. Wofford’s Parks Schoen has earned the league’s Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award. Postseason balloting was conducted by the league’s head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Thompson becomes the third Spartan to win the Player of the Year Award, joining Alex Lehnhoff (1999) and Orcun Seyrek (2009 and 2012). Thompson is 16-3 this spring at No. 1 singles and has fashioned a 6-1 mark in conference play. Thompson and teammate William Albright were 10-2 at No. 1 doubles and 4-2 in league contests.

Stuart was named the Freshman of the Year after posting an impressive 18-3 record in singles play, including a 6-1 record in conference matches. He performed strongly down the final stretch of the season, winning eight of his final nine singles matches. Stuart spent most of the season paired with Sam Philp in doubles. The duo finished 8-8 at No. 1 doubles with a 4-3 record in SoCon matches.

After taking over midway through the season, ETSU’s Ricky Rojas was named the league’s Coach of the Year by his peers. Rojas guided the Bucs to a 13-7 record this spring and an undefeated 7-0 record in conference play as ETSU captured the league’s regular-season crown for the third straight season.

Schoen is the second Terrier to win the Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award, joining Walker Heffron (2014). Schoen is 9-12 this spring, with a 9-9 mark at No. 3 singles.

Furman placed two individuals on the all-conference first team. Cameron Green and Adam Steryous were repeat selections after both garnered first-team honors a season ago. ETSU’s David Biosca and Wofford’s Haris Poric were selected first team for the third consecutive season. Mercer’s Philp and UNCG’s Thompson rounded out the first-team singles selections.  

ETSU’s Robert Herrera and Diego Nunez repeated as first-team all-conference selections in doubles and were joined by Furman’s Steryous and Jake Munns, along with UNCG’s top team of Albright and Thompson.

Second-team all-conference selections are made based on position. ETSU, Furman and Mercer each placed two on the second team. Nicholas Guillon (No. 1) and Stuart (No. 3) represented the Bears, while Herrera (No. 2) and David Gonzalez (No. 5) were chosen for ETSU. Furman placed Munns (No. 4) and Jake Bhangdia (No. 6) on the second team for singles.

Stuart and Philp were selected for No. 1 doubles on the second team, while UNCG’s Marcus Vidgren and Jack Burkill were chosen at No. 2. ETSU’s Wenceslao Albin and Gonzalez earned the nod at No. 3.

The coaches also selected an All-Freshman Team. Due to a tie in the voting, seven members were chosen for 2017. Furman placed two on the All-Freshman squad in Munns and Clarke Wilson. UNCG’s Vidgren, Samford’s Max Rebol, Chattanooga’s Niklas Gerdes and Wofford’s Lucas Cerbelli all joined Mercer’s Stuart on the rookie squad.

The 2017 Southern Conference Men’s Tennis Championship begins Friday (April 21) in Greenville, S.C.


2017 SoCon Men’s Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team
David Biosca, ETSU
Cameron Green, Furman
Adam Steryous, Furman
Sam Philp, Mercer
Connor Thompson, UNCG
Haris Poric, Wofford

Robert Herrera/Diego Nunez, ETSU
Adam Steryous/Jake Munns, Furman
Connor Thompson/William Albright, UNCG

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Nicolas Guillon, Mercer
No. 2 – Robert Herrera, ETSU
No. 3 – Olivier Stuart, Mercer
No. 4 – Jake Munns, Furman
No. 5 – David Gonzalez, ETSU
No. 6 – Jake Bhangdia, Furman

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Sam Philp/Olivier Stuart, Mercer
No. 2 – Jack Burkill/Marcus Vidgren, UNCG
No. 3 – Wenceslao Albin/David Gonzalez, ETSU

Jake Munns, Furman
Clarke Wilson, Furman
Olivier Stuart, Mercer
Marcus Vidgren, UNCG
Max Rebol, Samford
Niklas Gerdes, Chattanooga
Lucas Cerbelli, Wofford

Player of the Year
Connor Thompson, UNCG

Freshman of the Year
Olivier Stuart, Mercer

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award
Parks Schoen, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Ricky Rojas, ETSU

SoCon Digital Network
Tennis (M)
2017 Men's Tennis Highlights - Championship
Tennis (M)
2017 Men's Tennis Highlights - Day 2
Tennis (M)
2017 Men's Tennis Highlights - Day 1
Tennis (M)
2016 SoCon Tennis Championships Highlights: Day 3
Connect with SoConSports