Furman, San Juan, Loy and Melecka selected for regional action
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 04/24/2019
Print RSS
ETSU's Tereza Melecka
Courtesy: Todd Drexler

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The 22nd-ranked Furman women's golf team, Chattanooga’s Monica San Juan and ETSU’s Hee Ying Loy and sophomore Tereza Melecka will take part in the NCAA Regional action as announced Wednesday by the NCAA Division I Golf Committee. Furman and San Juan will be heading to the Auburn Regional at the Saugahatchee Country Club in Opelika, Alabama, May 3-6 and Loy and Melecka will be heading to the East Lansing Regional at the Forest Akers West Golf Course in East Lansing, Michigan.

The Paladins, who are the No. 6 seed in Auburn, are part of an 18-team regional field that will battle for a top six finish and a berth to the 24-team NCAA Championship which will be held May 17-22 at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Arkansas. The Auburn Regional field includes six of the top 25 teams in the country led by third-ranked Duke, sixth-ranked Vanderbilt, 11th-ranked Florida State, 13th-ranked Auburn, 17th-ranked Virginia and 22nd-ranked Furman.

“We are looking forward to this regional in Auburn,” said Furman head coach Jeff Hull.  “It is nice to be close to home and be able to finish our final exams and not have to rush to get to the regional.  The proximity of this regional really suits us, and we are excited for the opportunity to compete.”

Furman, which secured the Southern Conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament by capturing its 18th SoCon Championship last week at Moss Creek Country Club on Hilton Head Island, S.C., will make its fifth-consecutive and 22nd overall NCAA Regional appearance.  The Paladins appeared in 17-straight regionals from 1993, when the regional format began, until 2010.  Furman finished third last season at the NCAA Tallahassee Regional in Tallahassee, Florida, and went on place 11th at the NCAA Championships in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

The Paladins' lineup for the regional will include seniors Jacqueline Bendrick and Haylee Harford, junior Natalie Srinivasan, sophomore Madison Moosa and freshman Sarah-Eve Rheaume.

San Juan is one of 384 collegians vying for a spot in the NCAA Championship. She captured the 2019 Southern Conference Championship and was named to her third All-Conference team yesterday. This is her first trip to the NCAA postseason play and ninth for Chattanooga’s women’s golf program.

"It means a lot," said San Juan. "I wish I was doing it with my teammates. But I've worked hard for four years, and I'm pleased with the way I played. It means a lot that I get this opportunity to play with the best college players in the country."

For the first time in program history, the Bucs will be sending two individuals to the national stage. Loy, ranked No. 69 in the Golfweek Individual Rankings, will be appearing in her third straight regional as an individual – program record for the Bucs. She was named to her fourth all-conference team earlier this week making her the first in program history to receive four all-conference team selections.

Melecka, will make her first regional appearance after a pair of top-five finishes this season. She was also named to the all-conference team earlier this week.

“Having two individuals represent ETSU at the regional just shows the caliber of player we have here,” head coach Stefanie Shelton said. “Tereza and Loy have both had great years, they deserve to go to the regionals and have the chance to advance and play for the national championship.” 

Teams: Auburn Regional

1. Duke University

2. Vanderbilt University

3. Florida State University

4. Auburn University

5. University of Virginia

6. Furman University (Southern Conference)

7. Clemson University

8. University of Houston (American Athletic Conference)

9. Kennesaw State University (Atlantic Sun Conference)

10. University of Alabama

11. University of Tennessee, Knoxville

12. University of California, Berkeley

13. University of Maryland, College Park

14. East Carolina University

15. University of Denver (The Summit League)

16. University of South Alabama (Sun Belt Conference)

17. University at Albany (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

18. Murray State University (Ohio Valley Conference


Individuals: Auburn Regional

1. Leonie Bettel – University of Kentucky

2. Brigitte Thibault – California State University, Fresno

3. Hanley Long – Middle Tennessee State University

4. Monica San Juan – University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

5. Anne-Charlotte Mora – Texas State University

6. Victoria Huskey – College of Charleston (South Carolina)


Individuals: East Lansing Regional  

1. Hee Ying Loy – East Tennessee State

2. Emma Albrecht – Notre Dame

3. Kirsty Hodgkins – Colorado

4. Cecilie Finne-Ipsen – UNC Charlotte

5. Ashley Lau, Michigan

6. Tereza Melecka, East Tennessee State


SoCon Digital Network
Golf (W)
WGOLF 2019 Highlights
Golf (W)
2018 Women's Golf Highlights
Golf (W)
2017 Women's Golf Highlights - Championship
Golf (W)
Women's Golf Championship Highlights
Connect with SoConSports