SoCon Media Selects All-Conference Team and Awards
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/04/2014
Print RSS
Samford's Isaiah Williams
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference Sports Media Association selected its 2014 men’s basketball all-conference teams and postseason awards today (March 4). Davidson’s De’Mon Brooks was named the Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year. It is the third year in a row a Wildcat has won the award, as Brooks’ former teammate Jake Cohen was named the Player of the Year in 2012 and 2013.

Samford’s Isaiah Williams was named the league’s Freshman of the Year, while Chattanooga head coach Will Wade was tabbed the Anton Foy Coach of the Year.

A two-time Southern Conference tournament Most Outstanding Player, Brooks has now been named first-team all-conference by the league’s media for the third straight season in addition to earning the Player of the Year award. The Charlotte, N.C., native finished the year with 18.4 points per game, good for third place in the SoCon. Brooks ranked sixth in rebounding (7.0 rpg) and was third in field-goal percentage (.590).

Williams gives the Samford Bulldogs their second consecutive Freshman of the Year award after sophomore forward Tim Williams earned the honor last season. Isaiah Williams was Samford’s second-leading scorer with 12.4 points per game this season. He ranked fifth in the Southern Conference with 3.6 assists per game and was 10th in free-throw shooting percentage (.758).

Wade guided the Mocs to their best conference record (12-4 SoCon) since the 2011 season, when UTC finished league play at 12-6. Chattanooga finished in second place during the regular season after being slotted seventh in preseason balloting. In his first year on the bench with the Mocs, Wade is UTC’s first recipient of the Anton Foy award since Mack McCarthy in 1993.

The league’s media association also selected three all-conference teams, consisting of five members each. Brooks garnered first-team honors and was joined by Lucas Troutman (Elon), Z. Mason (Chattanooga), Trey Sumler (Western Carolina) and Karl Cochran (Wofford). Troutman and Sumler are repeat selections, as both garnered first-team plaudits last year.

Davidson’s Brian Sullivan, Furman’s Stephen Croone, Georgia Southern’s Jelani Hewitt, UNCG’s Kyle Cain and Samford’s Tim Williams were chosen for the second team.

Tyler Kalinoski (Davidson), Sebastian Koch (Elon), Tre Bussey (Georgia Southern), Casey Jones (Chattanooga) and Lee Skinner (Wofford) made up the all-conference third team.

In addition to earning the Freshman of the Year award, Isaiah Williams was named to the all-freshman team, where he was joined by Brian White (The Citadel), William Gates Jr. (Furman), Tevon Saddler (UNCG) and Eric Garcia (Wofford).

The 2014 Southern Conference Men’s Basketball Championship begins Friday, March 7, at the U.S. Cellular Center in Asheville, N.C. The league’s championship game will tip off Monday, March 10, at 9 p.m. and will be televised by ESPN2.

2014 Men’s SoCon Sports Media Association Awards

All-Conference First Team
De’Mon Brooks, Davidson
Lucas Troutman, Elon
Z. Mason, Chattanooga
Trey Sumler, Western Carolina
Karl Cochran, Wofford

All-Conference Second Team
Brian Sullivan, Davidson
Stephen Croone, Furman
Jelani Hewitt, Georgia Southern
Kyle Cain, UNCG
Tim Williams, Samford

All-Conference Third Team
Tyler Kalinoski, Davidson
Sebastian Koch, Elon
Tre Bussey, Georgia Southern
Casey Jones, Chattanooga
Lee Skinner, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Brian White, The Citadel
William Gates Jr., Furman
Tevon Saddler, UNCG
Isaiah Williams, Samford
Eric Garcia, Wofford

Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year
De’Mon Brooks, Sr., F, Davidson

Freshman of the Year
Isaiah Williams, G, Samford

Anton Foy Coach of the Year
Will Wade, Chattanooga

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports