Nine named to NABC Honors Court
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 07/17/2018
Print RSS
The Citadel's Zane Najdawi
Courtesy: Louis Brems/The Citadel

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Nine Southern Conference men’s basketball student-athletes were named to the 2017-18 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) NABC Honors Court, the organization announced Tuesday.


In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:


- Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.

- Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2017-18 academic year.

- Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.

- Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.


Southern Conference selections:

Zane Najdawi, Jr., The Citadel

Matt Frierson, Jr., The Citadel

Ryan Johnson, Sr., Mercer

Desmond Ringer, Sr., Mercer

Ethan Stair, Sr., Mercer

Jaylen Stowe, Jr., Mercer

Marvin Smith, Sr., UNCG

Jordy Kuiper, Sr., UNCG

Taqqi Muhammad, Jr., UNCG

For the NABC's full release and list of winners, click here.

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports