SoCon Coaches Honor Curry, Wells, McKillop
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/06/2008
Print RSS
Davidson coach Bob McKillop was named Southern Conference Coach of the Year by his peers.
Courtesy: Davidson College


SPARTANBURG, S.C. --- Davidson sophomore Stephen Curry, the leading scorer in the Southern Conference in 2007-08, was named the league’s Player of the Year in a vote of the conference coaches. The guard from Charlotte, N.C. received the maximum 10 votes from the coaches (coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players). UNC Greensboro’s record-setting forward Kyle Hines received one first-place vote.


The Citadel’s Cameron Wells earned Freshman of the Year recognition, receiving five votes from the coaches. The guard from Houston, Texas is the league’s leading scorer among freshman. Appalachian State’s Donald Sims (three votes), Georgia Southern’s Willie Powers (two votes) and College of Charleston’s Andrew Goudelock (one vote) also received consideration.


Davidson coach Bob McKillop was named Coach of the Year by his peers. McKillop led the Wildcats to a perfect 20-0 record in conference play and an overall mark of 23-6. Davidson owns the nation’s longest winning streak (19) and has won 31 consecutive Southern Conference games and 44 of the last 45.


Eight teams had players earn All-Southern Conference recognition from the coaches. Davidson (Curry and Jason Richards) and Chattanooga (Nicchaeus Doaks and Stephen McDowell) each landed two players on the all-league squad. Appalachian State (Donte Minter), Elon (Brett James), Georgia Southern (Louis Graham), UNC Greensboro (Hines), Western Carolina (Brandon Giles) and Wofford (Drew Gibson) each had one player earn All-Southern Conference honors.


The Citadel had two players named to the league’s All-Freshman team including Cameron Wells and Austin Dahn. College of Charleston’s Andrew Goudelock, Appalachian State’s Sims and Georgia Southern’s Willie Powers round out the team.


Player of the Year: Stephen Curry, Davidson

Freshman of the Year: Cameron Wells, The Citadel

Coach of the Year: Bob McKillop, Davidson


Coaches All-Southern Conference Team

Stephen Curry, Davidson

Kyle Hines, UNC Greensboro

Louis Graham, Georgia Southern

Jason Richards, Davidson

Donte Minter, Appalachian State

Nicchaeus Doaks, UTC

Stephen McDowell, UTC

Drew Gibson, Wofford

Brandon Giles, Western Carolina

Brett James, Elon


Coaches All-Freshman Team

Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston

Donald Sims, Appalachian State

Cameron Wells, The Citadel

Willie Powers, Georgia Southern

Austin Dahn, The Citadel

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports