SCSMA Selects All-Conference Team
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/04/2010
Print RSS
ASU's Donald Sims
Courtesy: Southern Conference
SPARTANBURG, S.C.The Southern Conference Sports Media Association selected the its 2009-10 men's basketball all-conference teams and postseason awards.  Appalachian State's Donald Sims was named the league's Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year while Wofford's Mike Young was named the Anton Foy Coach of the Year.  Davidson forward Jake Cohen was named the league's Freshman of the Year.

Sims led the league in scoring with 20.4 points per game and leads the nation in free throw percentage (.950).  He helped the Mountaineers earn the No. 1 seed in the North Division with a 13-5 mark in conference play.  Young guided the Terriers to their best season since moving to Division I.  Wofford won the South Division crown with a 15-3 league record and finished the regular season 23-8 overall, marking the Terriers' highest win total since the 1963-64 season. 

The league's media association selected three all-conference teams, each consisting of five players.  Sims garnered first-team honors along with The Citadel's Cameron Wells, College of Charleston's Andrew Goudelock and UNC Greensboro's Ben Stywall.  Wofford's Noah Dahlman, who was named Player of the Year by the leagues coaches, was also named to the media association's first team.

Jeremy Simmons (College of Charleston), Adam Constantine (Elon), Amu Saaka (Furman), Ty Patterson (Chattanooga) and Brandon Giles (Western Carolina) all garnered second-team honors. 

Due to a tie in the balloting, the all-conference third team consists of six members, including Donavan Monroe (College of Charleston), Willie Powers (Georgia Southern), Jake Robinson (Western Carolina), Brigham Waginger (Western Carolina), Jamar Diggs (Wofford) and Tim Johnson (Wofford).

A day after Davidson's JP Kuhlman earned the Freshman of the Year award in balloting conducted by the league's head coaches, teammate Jake Cohen was named the top freshman in voting by the Sports Media Association.  Both Cohen and Kuhlman earned all-freshmen honors.  They were joined by Willis Hall (College of Charleston), Harrison DuPont (The Citadel) and Kyle Randall (UNC Greensboro)

The 2010 Southern Conference Men's Basketball Tournament begins Friday, March 5 at Bojangles' Coliseum in Charlotte, N,C. Following the first round and quarterfinal games, the event will shift to Time Warner Cable Arena, home of the NBA's Charlotte Bobcats, for Sunday's semifinals and Monday's championship game.

2010 SoCon Men's Media Association Awards
All-Conference First Team
Donald Sims, Appalachian State
Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston
Cameron Wells, The Citadel
Ben Stywall, UNC Greensboro
Noah Dahlman, Wofford

All-Conference Second Team
Jeremy Simmons, College of Charleston
Adam Constantine, Elon
Amu Saaka, Furman
Ty Patterson, Chattanooga
Brandon Giles, Western Carolina

All-Conference Third Team
Donavan Monroe, College of Charleston
Willie Powers, Georgia Southern
Jake Robinson, Western Carolina
Brigham Waginger, Western Carolina
Jamar Diggs, Wofford
Tim Johnson, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Willis Hall, College of Charleston
Harrison DuPont, The Citadel
Jake Cohen, Davidson
JP Kuhlman, Davidson
Kyle Randall, UNC Greensboro

Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year
Donald Sims, Appalachian State

Freshman of the Year
Jake Cohen, Davidson

Anton Foy Coach of the Year
Mike Young, Wofford

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports