Uploaded Ad
Forbes, Young finalists for Skip Prosser Award
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/13/2019
Print RSS
Courtesy: Southern Conference

BOSTON – ETSU men’s basketball coach Steve Forbes and Wofford coach Mike Young have been named finalists for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well. Prosser’s son, Mark Prosser, just completed his first season as Western Carolina’s head coach.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to be considered for such a prestigious award,” said Forbes. “Everyone in our profession has the utmost respect for Coach Prosser and for what he stood for. I’m excited to be nominated alongside numerous peers to whom I look up to and admire.”

During the 2018-19 season, Forbes led the Blue and Gold to their fourth straight 20-win campaign – a feat that has only been accomplished twice in program history. ETSU’s 24 wins are tied for the seventh-most in program history, along with his 2015-16 squad, while the 25 wins last season rank sixth and the 27 wins during the Bucs’ SoCon championship run in 2017 are tied for second-most.

Forbes has led the Bucs to 100 wins since he took over the program in 2015-16, becoming only the 11th active NCAA Division I head coach to reach 100 wins in their first four seasons. ETSU became the 18th Division I program to reach 100 wins during this time frame, while Forbes’ .725 win percentage ranks 12th nationally among active coaches who are in at least their fourth year of having Division I experience.

Since taking over the program, Forbes has led ETSU to the most wins in the SoCon and the state of Tennessee, while the 100 wins are the most during a four-year run in Buccaneer history.

In his 17 seasons at Wofford, Young has an overall record of 298-243, appearing in four NCAA tournaments. On Monday night, Young guided the Terriers to a 70-58 win over UNCG in the SoCon tournament championship, clinching the program's automatic bid for the upcoming NCAA tournament.

The Terriers, who have won a program-record 29 games this season (29-4), hold the longest active winning streak in the country at 20 consecutive games.

The recipient of the 2019 Skip Prosser award will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA division I basketball championship.

To read more about the award and its finalists, visit

Casey Alexander, Lipscomb
Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Rick Byrd, Belmont
Johnny Dawkins, UCF
Fran Dunphy, Temple
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
Earl Grant, Charleston
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Michael Huger, Bowling Green
Donte' Jackson, Grambling
James Jones, Yale
Mike Jones, Radford
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T
Danny Kaspar, Texas State
Rob Krimmel, Saint Francis PA
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Ryan Odom, UMBC
Matt Painer, Purdue
Doc Sadler, Southern Miss
Bruce Weber, Kansas State
Mike Young, Wofford

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 Men's Basketball Preview: Wofford
Basketball (M)
2019 Men's Basketball Preview: Western Carolina
Basketball (M)
2019 Men's Basketball Preview: VMI
Basketball (M)
2019 Men's Basketball Preview: Chattanooga
Connect with SoConSports