Four named finalists for national coaching honors
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/15/2019
Print RSS
Furman's Bob Richey
Courtesy: Furman Athletics

BOSTON – Four Southern Conference men’s basketball coaches were named finalists for the Hugh Durham Award, given to nation’s top mid-major coach, and Wofford’s Mike Young was tabbed a finalist for the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award, given to the top Division I coach, announced Friday.

ETSU’s Steve Forbes, Furman’s Bob Richey, UNC Greensboro’s Wes Miller and Wofford’s Young were all finalists for the Hugh Durham Award.

Furman (25-7), UNCG (28-6) and Wofford (29-4) have each posted school records for wins this season, while ETSU has compiled its fourth straight 20-win season and has totaled 100 wins in the last four years, a school-record over a four-year span. Furman and Wofford have each spent time in the national rankings this year, while the Terriers’ boast the nation’s longest active winning streak at 20 games.

Forbes and Young were named finalists for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award on Wednesday, while Young has been named the Sporting News Coach of the Year and a semifinalist for the Werner Ladder Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year award.

In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools.

Phelan led Mount Saint Mary’s to the 1962 NCAA Men's Division II Basketball Championship. When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he had amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.

The recipients of both awards will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA division I basketball championship.

John Becker, Vermont
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary's
Rick Byrd, Belmont
Bill Coen, Northeastern
Tim Cluess, Iona
Darian DeVries, Drake
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Mike Huger, Bowling Green
Chris Jans, New Mexico State
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Danny Kaspar, Texas State
Dustin Kerns, Presbyterian
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Wes Miller, UNC Greensboro
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Chris Ogden, UT Arlington
Mark Pope, Utah Valley
Bob Richey, Furman
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M
Russell Turner, UC Irvine
Mike Young, Wofford

Rick Barnes, Tennessee
Chris Beard, Texas Tech
John Beilein, Michigan
Tony Bennett, Virginia
John Calipari, Kentucky
Kermit Davis, Ole Miss
Darian DeVries, Drake
Mark Few, Gonzaga
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Justin Hutson, Fresno State
Tom Izzo, Michigan State
Dustin Kerns, Presbyterian
Chris Mack, Louisville
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Eric Musselman, Nevada
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Matt Painter, Purdue
Mike Rhoades, VCU
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M
Craig Smith, Utah State
Bruce Weber, Kansas State
Roy Williams, North Carolina
Steve Wojciechowski, Marquette
Mike Young, Wofford

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
SoCon Basketball Media Day - Commissioner Remarks
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Connect with SoConSports