SoCon Coaches Honor Kyle Hines, Stephen Curry and Bob McKillop
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 02/28/2007
Print RSS
UNCG's Kyle Hines led the league in rebounding and was second in scoring during the regular season.
Courtesy: UNCG

SoCon Coaches Honor Kyle Hines, Stephen Curry and Bob McKillop

NORTH CHARLESTON, S.C. --- UNC Greensboro’s Kyle Hines was named the Southern Conference Player of the Year, Davidson’s Stephen Curry earned Freshman of the Year honors and Davidson coach Bob McKillop was recognized as the league’s Coach of the Year in a vote of the conference’s 11 head coaches. The coaches’ selections are based on nominations from their respective teams. Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players.


Hines, the preseason conference Player of the Year, lived up to his advance billing by finishing second in the league in scoring (20.4 ppg) and leading the conference in rebounding (9.0 rpg).


Curry, son of former Virginia Tech and NBA star Dell Curry, led the conference in scoring (20.7 ppg) in his first season in a Davidson uniform. He helped lead the Wildcats to the No. 1 seed in the SoCon Tournament.


McKillop was named the league’s Coach of the Year in a vote of his peers after guiding the Wildcats to a 26-4 regular season record. Davidson posted a 17-1 record in the conference play in 2006-07.


Player of the Year: Kyle Hines (UNC Greensboro)

Rookie of the Year: Stephen Curry (Davidson)

Coach of the Year: Bob McKillop (Davidson)


All-SoCon Team                              Class                PPG                 RPG                 APG

Kyle Hines (UNCG)                              Jr.                   20.4                   9.0                    0.9

D.J. Thompson (ASU)                           Sr.                   15.7                   3.4                    5.2

Dontaye Draper (CofC)                          Sr.                   15.5                   4.0                    5.3

Stephen Curry (Dav)                             Fr.                   20.7                   4.5                    2.8

Nick Aldridge (WCU)                            Fr.                   18.0                   7.1                    1.7

Jason Richards (Dav)                            Jr.                   13.5                   4.0                    7.5

Donte Gennie (GSU)                            Sr.                   16.3                   2.9                    2.6

Moussa Diagne (Fur)                            Sr.                   13.1                   4.6                    0.7
LeVonn Jordan (Elon)                           Sr.                   14.7                   6.7                    2.1

Robby Bostain (Fur)                             Sr.                   12.2                   5.2                    3.0


All-Freshman Team                          PPG                 RPG                 APG

Stephen Curry (Dav)                            20.7                   4.5                    2.8

Nick Aldridge (WCU)                           18.0                   7.1                    1.7

Jake Robinson (WCU)                          9.1                    2.9                    0.5

Junior Salters (Wof)                             7.9                    2.9                    1.7

Ben Stwall (UNCG)                              5.9                    6.6                    0.8


SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2019 SoCon Men's Basketball Championship Recap
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Connect with SoConSports