2019 MBK tourney
Media Selects Women's Basketball All-Conference Team
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/03/2015
Print RSS
Courtesy: Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference media selected its 2015 women’s basketball all-conference teams and postseason awards, naming Mercer’s Precious Bridges as the Player of the Year and her teammate Kahlia Lawrence as the Freshman of the Year. Additionally, the media tabbed Chattanooga’s Jim Foster as the Coach of the Year.

Bridges, a senior from West Palm Beach, Fla. led the league in scoring, averaging 20.2 points per game in Mercer’s first season in the Southern Conference. The guard also ranked third in the SoCon this season in both assists per game (3.8) and assist-turnover ratio (1.7) and led the league in minutes played at 38.3 per game.

Lawrence had a standout freshman campaign, averaging 13.5 points per game to lead all SoCon freshmen in scoring this season. The rookie from Columbus, Ga. added 5.3 rebounds per game, the fourth highest average by a SoCon freshman, and shot 80.0 percent (72-of-90) from the free throw line, ranking fifth overall and leading all freshman.

Foster earned his first SoCon Coach of the Year award in his second season at Chattanooga, leading the Mocs to a 26-3 record and a perfect 14-0 conference mark this season. UTC concluded regular-season play on a 22-game winning streak and claimed its third-straight regular season title, the second under Foster’s tenure.

The media first-team all-conference group mirrored the selections by the coaches. Bridges was joined on the first team by Chattanooga’s Jasmine Joyner and Chelsey Shumpert and Furman’s Brittany Hodges and Whitney Bunn.

There were two differences in the media’s all-conference selections, as UNCG’s Lucy Mason and ETSU’s Shamaura Bridges made the second-team squad. They were joined by Serena Clark of ETSU, Samford’s Hannah Nichols and Western Carolina’s Justin Taylor.

The all-freshman team comprised the same five rookie players as the coaches picks. Mercer’s Lawrence was joined by Chattanooga’s Keiana Gilbert, ETSU’s Tianna Tarter, Samford’s Destiney Elliott and Furman’s Cierra Carter.

The 2015 Southern Conference Women’s Basketball Tournament begins Thursday, March 5 at 11 a.m. at Kimmel Arena in Asheville, N.C. The championship game is scheduled for Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m. on ESPN3.

2015 SoCon Women’s Basketball Media Awards

First-Team Media All-Conference
Precious Bridges, Mercer

Jasmine Joyner, Chattanooga
Chelsey Shumpert, Chattanooga
Brittany Hodges, Furman
Whitney Bunn, Furman

Second-Team Media All-Conference
Lucy Mason, UNCG

Shamauria Bridges, ETSU
Hannah Nichols, Samford
Justin Taylor, Western Carolina
Serena Clark, ETSU

Media All-Freshmen Team
Kahlia Lawrence, Mercer

Keiana Gilbert, Chattanooga
Tianna Tarter, ETSU
Destiney Elliott, Samford
Cierra Carter, Furman

Media Player of the Year
Precious Bridges, Mercer

Media Freshman of the Year
Kahlia Lawrence, Mercer

Media Coach of the Year
Jim Foster, Chattanooga

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (W)
2018 Women's Basketball Championship Highlights
Basketball (W)
2017 Women's Basketball Championship: UTCvsMER
Basketball (W)
2017 Women's Basketball Press Conference
Basketball (W)
Connect with SoConSports